POST-TRANSPLANT

 

How long will my child stay in the ICU (intensive care unit)? Can we sleep next to our child in the ICU?

Depending on your child’s development, he may stay in the ICU for 4 to 5 days or longer. Parents are not allowed to sleep next to their child. However, you may visit your child every day and at every moment of the day after having gone to the ICU reception desk.

 

May my child have visitors (brothers, sisters, aunt, ….)?

Visitors are authorised as long as they respect the basic precautions: hand disinfection when entering and when leaving the room. When a visitor (the brother or the sister) has a cold or has symptoms of infection, they must stay at home.

 

What hygiene measures must be taken at hospital and later at home?

At hospital: Your child is alone in his room. When he leaves his room to go to areas with a high density of people (cafeteria, US room, garden,…), he must wear a mask. He may take it off in his room.

The parents can wash their child with filtered tap water and normal soap.

Food should not be kept too long in the room, it should rather be consumed quickly. When your child does not eat his meal at once, give it back to the nursing assistant or the nurse. After the meal, you should get into the habit of performing your child’s dental hygiene. Put the pacifiers or soothers as well as the nursing bottles for one hour in a cold sterilisation solution. The solution is changed once daily by the nursing assistant. Bedding is changed once daily (sheets, pillowcases, undersheet,…) and the complete bed once per week.

At home: Your child will not wear a mask. However, when one of the brothers or sisters is sick, “physical” contact with your transplanted child must be avoided if possible.

As to food, it is preferable to go shopping once per week and buy “fresh” food and to prepare small quantities of food and to consume it quickly avoiding keeping them in the refrigerator for too long.

 

Which pain-relieving drugs or antipyretics for my child after the transplant?

Your child is administered Prograf® after the graft. When he has fever or pain, it is indicated to only give him paracetamol (Dafalgan®, Panadol®, Benuron®,…), but absolutely no ibuprofen (Algifor®, Irfen®, Brufen®, Nurofen®, of the NSAID family= nonsteroidal anti-inflammatory drugs). The combination of Prograf®/Ibuprofen may have harmful effects on your child’s kidneys. IN CASE OF PERSISTING FEVER, DESPITE DAFALGAN, CALL YOUR PAEDIATRICIAN. THE MORE RECENT THE GRAFT, THE GREATER YOUR CHILD’S NEED TO QUICKLY SEE A PHYSICIAN.

 

May I give him paracetamol suppositories?

In case of pain or fever, you are authorised to give him Dafalgan® suppositories every 6 hours.

 

May I give him tap water here at the hospital? And at home?

When your child is hospitalised, you should give him Henniez bottled water. Once opened, you can keep it for 24 hours at room temperature and then you must throw it away. YOU MUST NEVER GIVE HIM HOSPITAL TAP WATER!

At home, your child may drink tap water.

 

What do I have to pay attention to when preparing meals for my child? What may he eat and should he avoid?

Storage, preparation and cooking of food must take place in a “clean environment”: regularly cleaned refrigerator, utensils and tableware cleaned very thoroughly using hot water and detergent, very clean work surface. It also is important that you wash your hands before cooking.

Drinks must be pasteurised or UHT; raw milk is advised against on the long term. As to raw meat, fish and eggs, they are allowed from the 4th month after the graft on, but these food items must be as fresh as possible. Store fresh or already cooked food in the refrigerator and make sure to consume them as quickly as possible. As regards deep-frozen food, it must be cooked without prior thawing. Never refreeze thawed food. When going shopping, pack up fresh food and carry it in a cool bag to avoid breaking the cold chain and always check the use-by dates of food items.

Caution: Grapefruit (fruit, juice, yoghurt, etc…) is forbidden since it is not compatible with the taking of Prograf® (tacrolimus) or  Sandimmun Neoral® (cyclosporine).

 

May I do the shopping with my child?

During 6 months after the graft, it is preferable to avoid going to public places with a high density of people, in particular in winter.

 

May my child go swimming?

In the sea: You child may bathe in the sea. It is always absolutely necessary to apply “sun block” sunscreen since Prograf® may make children more sensitive to the harmful effects of sunlight.

In the swimming bath: It is recommended to avoid public swimming baths during the first year after the graft. However, private pools (at home, at a friend’s or family member’s home) are authorised.

 

How must I administer Prograf®? Must it always be at the same time? May I change the schedule for reasons of family organisation?

Prograf® or other immunosuppressive drug, should always be taken by mouth and under the following conditions:

Do not eat for one hour before taking Prograf® and also wait for half an hour afterwards before eating. Drinking water during this time is permitted. Do not take any other medication for one hour before taking Prograf® and also wait for half an hour afterwards before doing so.

Taking food and other medicines simultaneously with Prograf® reduces its absorption.

It must be administered at set hours in order to avoid fluctuations of its level in the blood and to thus attenuate its side effects.

In case of vomiting, apply the half an hour rule: when a vomiting episode occurred within haft an hour after the administration of the drug, it is reasonable to think that the child did not absorb his dose; thus, you can give him the same dose a second time. When the episode happens half an hour or more after the administration of the drug, do not administer it again, since it probably has been absorbed. Do not hesitate to contact our Centre when you are in doubt or if the vomiting persists.

All grapefruit-based products must be avoided due to its interference with the metabolism of tacrolimus. Grapefruit juice may very significantly increase the level of tacrolimus in the blood. When your child eats grapefruit or drinks the juice of this fruit by mistake, please inform our Centre immediately!

The change in the time schedule for administration of tacrolimus is made by mere adjustment to the new schedule, without any gradual scheme. This rule applies irrespective of the interval lapsing between the former schedule and the new one.

For example:

Upon the seasonal time change, give the medicine to your child according to the new time.

08:00 a.m. wintertime      ->           08:00 a.m. summer time

Travelling between time zones

08:00 a.m. Geneva time    ->           08:00 a.m. New York time

 

When my child has a nasogastric tube, which drugs must he absolutely take orally and which drugs may I administer via the tube?

It happens that children return home with a nasogastric tube. Please note that Prograf® must absolutely always be given orally.

The other treatments, except for Nifedipine®, Amphomoronal® and Mycostatine®, may be administered via the nasogastric tube if really necessary. Eventually, your child will no longer need his nasogastric tube which is why it is preferable to get him used to the oral taking of drugs.

 

Will my child have to take his immunosuppressant for life?

Your child must take his immunosuppressive treatment (Prograf®) for life, always at set hours (morning and evening). Since transplantation medicine is a recent medicine and in constant development, it is possible that new solutions develop during your child’s life.

 

What tricks are there to motivate or encourage my child to take Prograf® when he refuses it (forcing him, waiting, etc…)?

You can add a bit of grenadine syrup to the suspension since the syrup does not alter absorption very much. Over time, your child will learn that the taking of the drug is part of his life routine.

 

How long must he take the drugs (except for Prograf®)?

The table below states the general rule that may vary from child to child:

Types of drugs Duration of post-transplant drug administration
Prednisolone® or Prednisone® 3 months in decreasing doses
Bactrim® and Folvite® one year
Aspirin® 3 months
Valcyte® 6 months
Ursofalk® 3-6 months
Antihypertensive treatment: Norvasc® (amlodipine), Reniten® and nifedipine depending on your child’s development
Aquadek®, magnesium, Calcimagon D3® depending on your child’s development

 

Why must my child take all these drugs and what are they for? What side effects do they have? 

 

From which month after the graft on can my child go to the kindergarten, to school… again?

You child may go to school again as soon as possible and, as regards the nursery, from the 6th month after the graft on (to be discussed on an individual basis if the family has difficulties).

 

What to do when my son is feverish? Must I immediately go to the Children’s Hospital or my paediatrician?

First of all, you can uncover your child and bath him. When he still is feverish despite all these measures, you can call your paediatrician and then give him Dafalgan®. If the fever persists in spite of Dafalgan®, take your child to the paediatrician or directly to your nearest Children’s Hospital. You can always call the Centre in order to speak with a member of the team who knows your child.

 

May I put a carpet down in the room because the floor is tiled and my baby starts crawling on all fours or simply that he can sit down?

You can put down a carpet (avoid long-piled carpets) in order to promote your baby’s mobilisation so that he is not in direct contact with the tiled floor.

 

Should I sterilise the bottles after every use or may I simply put them in the dishwasher or hand wash them thoroughly?

At the hospital: You must “cold sterilise” the bottles, the rings, teats or pacifiers for one hour in a soaking solution and then let them dry.

At home, you can either put them in the dishwasher or hand wash them thoroughly.

 

Can I use wet wipes rather than dry wipes that need to be moistened?

Wet wipes can be used provided that the baby’s seat is dried well afterwards and not left wet. Humidity promotes the proliferation of fungi (mycoses), in particular in immunosuppressed children.

 

May I use a tube of ointment already opened for some days or some months (e.g. Osa for the teeth)?

Yes, provided that you observe the use-by date stated on the package.

 

From which blood pressure readings on must I give my child Aprical®(nifedipine) or not?

Blood pressure readings vary from child to child and cannot be generalised at all. Before you leave the hospital, we will give you exact instructions regarding the measurement of blood pressure and the treatment, if required.

 

When and how should the blood pressure of transplanted children be taken?

Always check your child’s blood pressure before giving him a drug for hypertension. Every time you take his blood pressure, write down the date, the time and the indicated value as well as the moment when he takes this drug and the dose. Follow the instructions given by your referral nurse regarding the administration of the drug for hypertension. When the blood pressure readings are too high, do not hesitate to repeat the taking of the pressure two or three times before giving your child an antihypertensive drug. It is preferable to take the blood pressure while your child is calm.

 

Why is varicella or an EBV (Epstein-Barr virus) or CMV (cytomegalovirus) infection so dangerous for an immunosuppressed child?

Immunosuppression diminishes your child’s immune response to the virus. What is so special about these viruses is that they can reside and hide in the cells and reappear later, which is why they are more difficult to “treat”. The CMV may have effects on various organs and may cause rejection. In very exceptional cases, the EBV may cause a lymphoproliferative syndrome (PTLD) similar to lymphoma. Finally, the varicella virus may cause a large number of complications in a child who has not developed immunity before transplantation.

 

What are the dangers of an infection for a transplanted child?

There are more risks that your child develops the various complications of an infection. For example, when he suffers from colds, he is more likely to develop pneumonia or otitis later.

 

How long must my child continue to take Ursofalk® and Aquadeks®? Do children systematically take them after transplantation?

Ursofalk® is continued for 3 to 6 months after transplantation depending on the biological results (liver tests). Aquadeks® is necessary to compensate for vitamin deficiencies often developed before the transplantation.

 

We are giving valganciclovir for CMV? Why do you not give wide-spectrum antiviral drugs to prevent varicella, EBV,…?

There are no efficient prophylactic antiviral drugs available for the other viruses.

 

Can a transplanted child get vaccinations or are they contra-indicated?

We do not recommend vaccinations for transplanted children before the end of the first year after transplantation, but we regularly discuss this topic at every visit. We thank you for always bringing the certificate of vaccination with you.

 

In which interval do transplanted children return to Geneva for follow-up examinations? How long does a follow-up examination take? Can the examinations be performed without hospitalisation? What do we check during these evaluations and why?

 

Liver examination: Which examinations? How? Why?

 

May we keep our cat/dog, bird, rabbit or do we have to give them away to the animal shelter?

The family may keep their existing pets. You should not take any new pets, at least during the first year after transplantation. When the family has birds, the transplanted child is not allowed to clean the cage and he must avoid direct contact with poultry. Snakes and tortoises and turtles should be avoided.

When you have pets, the basic hygiene rule that must be observed is that the transplanted child and his family must wash their hands often.

POST-GREFFE

 

Combien de temps mon enfant va-t-il rester aux USI (Unité de soins intensifs)? Pouvons-nous dormir auprès de notre enfant aux USI ?

Suivant l’évolution de votre enfant, il peut séjourner aux USI de 4 à 5 jours, soit davantage. Il n’est pas autorisé aux parents de dormir auprès de leur enfant. Toutefois, en vous annonçant à l’accueil des USI, vous pouvez rendre visite à votre enfant tous les jours et à tout moment de la journée.

 

Mon enfant peut-il avoir des visites (frères, sœurs, tante, ….) ?

Les visites sont autorisées en respectant les mesures de bases : désinfection des mains en entrant et sortant de la chambre. Si une visite, (le frère ou la sœur) est enrhumée ou présente des symptômes infectieux, elle reste  à la maison.

 

Qu’elles sont les mesures d’hygiène à prendre à l’Hôpital et par la suite à la maison ?

A l’hôpital :  votre enfant est dans une chambre seul. S’il sort de sa chambre pour se rendre dans un endroit où il peut y avoir une forte densité de personnes, il doit porter un masque (cafétéria, salle d’US, jardin,…). Dans sa chambre, il peut l’enlever.

Les parents peuvent faire la toilette de leur enfant avec l’eau filtrée du robinet et du savon normal.

Il faut éviter de garder de la nourriture trop longtemps dans la chambre, et plutôt la consommer rapidement. Si votre enfant ne mange pas tout de suite son plateau repas, donnez-le en retour à l’aide soignant ou à l’infirmier. Après les repas, il faut bien prendre l’habitude de faire des soins de bouche à votre enfant. Faites également tremper les tétines ou lolettes dans une solution de stérilisation à froid pendant une heure. La solution est changée une fois par jour par l’aide soignant. La literie est changée une fois par jour (draps, taies d’oreillers, alèzes,…) et le lit entier une fois par semaine.

A la maison : votre enfant ne portera pas de masque. Toutefois, si l’un des frères ou sœurs venait à être malade, il faudrait dans la mesure du possible éviter le contact « physique » avec votre enfant greffé.

En ce qui concerne la nourriture, il est préférable de faire des courses plusieurs fois par semaine et acheter du « frais » et de préparer des repas en petite quantités et les consommer rapidement en évitant de les garder trop longtemps au frigo.

 

Quels antidouleurs ou fébrifuges pour mon enfant après la greffe ?

Votre enfant est mis sous Prograf®. après la greffe. Lorsqu’il aura de la fièvre ou des douleurs, il est indiqué de lui donner uniquement du paracétamol (Dafalgan®. , Panadol®. , Ben Uron®. ,…), mais en aucun cas de l’ibuprofene (Algifor®. , Irfen®. , Brufen®. , Nurofen®. , de la famille des AINS = anti-inflammatoires non stéroïdiens). L’association Prograf®. /Ibuprofene. peut avoir des effets néfastes sur les reins de votre enfant. EN CAS DE FIEVRE PERSISTANTE, MALGRE LE DAFALGAN, APPELER VOTRE PEDIATRE. PLUS LA GREFFE EST RECENTE, PLUS VOTRE ENFANT AURA BESOIN D’ETRE VU RAPIDEMENT PAR UN MEDECIN.

 

Puis-je lui donner des suppositoires de paracétamol ?

En cas de douleurs ou de fièvre, vous êtes autorisés à donner des suppositoires de Dafalgan®. (paracétamol) toutes les  6 heures.

 

Puis-je lui donner de l’eau du robinet ici à l’Hôpital ? Et qu’en est- il à la maison ?

Lorsque votre enfant est hospitalisé, il faut lui donner de l’eau en bouteille type Henniez. Une fois ouverte,  vous pouvez la garder 24h à température ambiante et ensuite il faut l’éliminer. EN AUCUN CAS VOUS DEVEZ DONNER DE L’EAU DU ROBINET A L’HOPITAL !

A la maison, votre enfant peut boire de l’eau du robinet sans autre.

 

A quoi dois-je faire attention lorsque je préparerai des repas pour mon enfant ? Que peut-il et ne peut-il pas manger ?

La conservation, la préparation et la cuisson des aliments doivent se faire en « milieu propre » : réfrigérateur nettoyé régulièrement, ustensiles et vaisselle lavés très soigneusement avec de l’eau chaude et du détergent et plan de travail bien propre. Il est également très important de vous laver les mains avant de cuisiner.

Les boissons doivent être pasteurisées ou UHT, et le lait cru est déconseillé au long terme. En ce qui concerne la viande, le poisson et les œufs crus, ils sont autorisés à partir du 4ème mois post-greffe, mais ces aliments doivent être le plus frais possible. Stockez les aliments frais ou déjà cuits au réfrigérateur, et veillez à les consommer le plus rapidement possible. Concernant les aliments surgelés, ils doivent être cuits sans décongélation préalable. Surtout, ne recongelez jamais un aliment décongelé. Lors des achats, emballez les aliments frais et transportez-les dans un sac isolant, afin d’éviter de casser la chaine du froid, et contrôlez bien les dates de péremption des denrées.

Attention : le pamplemousse (fruits, jus, etc.,) est interdit, car il est incompatible avec la prise de Prograf® (tacrolimus) ou de  Sandimmun Neoral® (ciclosporine).

 

Puis-je aller faire les courses avec mon enfant ?

Pendant les 6 mois après la greffe, il est préférable d’éviter de se rendre dans les lieux publics avec une  forte densité de personnes, et particulièrement en période hivernale.

 

Est-ce que mon enfant peut aller se baigner?

A la mer : votre enfant peut aller se baigner à la mer. Il est toujours impératif de lui appliquer de la crème solaire « écran total », car le Prograf®. peut rendre les enfants plus sensibles aux effets néfastes du soleil.

A la piscine : Il est recommandé d’éviter les piscines publiques durant la première année post greffe. En revanche, les piscines privées (chez soi, chez des amis ou de la famille) sont autorisées.

 

Comment dois-je donner le Prograf®? Est-ce toujours à la même heure ? Puis-je décaler les horaires pour des raisons d’organisation familiale ?

Le Prograf® ou autre immunosuppresseur, se donne toujours par la bouche et doit être pris dans les conditions suivantes :

Ne rien manger une heure avant sa prise et attendre une demi heure après sa prise pour manger. Boire de l’eau pendant ce temps est autorisé. Il ne faut pas prendre d’autres médicaments une heure avant le Prograf® et attendre une demi-heure après pour les prendre.

La nourriture et les autres médicaments réduisent l’absorption du Prograf®.

Il doit être administré à heures fixes, afin d’éviter des fluctuations de son taux dans le sang et d’atténuer ainsi ses effets secondaires.

En cas de vomissements, appliquez la règle d’une demi-heure: si un épisode de vomissement s’est produit dans la demi-heure suivant l’administration du médicament, il est raisonnable de penser que l’enfant n’a pas absorbé sa dose ; vous pouvez donc  lui donner la même dose une deuxième fois. Si l’épisode survient une demi-heure ou plus après l’administration du médicament, ne l’administrez pas à nouveau, car il est probable qu’il ait été absorbé. N’hésitez pas à appeler notre Centre si vous avez un doute ou si les vomissements persistent.

Tous les produits à base de pamplemousse sont à proscrire en raison de son interférence avec le métabolisme du tacrolimus. Le jus de pamplemousse peut élever de manière très significative les taux de tacrolimus dans le sang. Si par accident votre enfant mange du pamplemousse ou boit du jus de ce fruit, veuillez en informer immédiatement  l’équipe de greffe.

Changer les horaires de prise du tacrolimus se fait simplement en s’adaptant au nouvel horaire sans aucun schéma progressif.  Cette règle s’applique quelque soit l’écart entre l’ancien et le nouvel horaire.

Par exemple :

Au changement saisonnier d’heure, donner le médicament à votre enfant selon la nouvelle heure.

08h00 heure d’hiver      ->           08h00 heure d’été

Voyage entre zones horaires

08h00 heure Genève    ->           08h00 heure New York

 

Si mon enfant est porteur d’une sonde nasogastrique (SNG), quels sont les médicaments qu’il doit impérativement prendre par la bouche et ceux que je peux administrer par la SNG ?

Il arrive que des enfants rentrent à domicile avec une sng. Sachez que le médicament qui doit être donné impérativement par la bouche reste et restera toujours le Prograf®.

Les autres traitements, hormis la Nifédipine®, l’Amphomoronal® et la Mycostatine®, peuvent être administrés par la sng si vraiment nécessaire. A terme, votre enfant n’aura plus besoin de sa sonde nasogastrique, raison pour laquelle il est préférable de l’accoutumer à la prise de médicaments par la bouche.

 

Mon enfant devra-t-il garder à vie son immunosupresseur ?

Votre enfant devra prendre à vie son traitement immunosuppresseur (Prograf®), toujours aux mêmes horaires (matin et soir). La médecine de transplantation étant une médecine jeune et en constante évolution, il est possible que de nouvelles solutions se développent durant la vie de votre enfant.

 

Quels sont les astuces pour motiver ou encourager mon enfant à prendre le Prograf quand il le refuse (le forcer, attendre, etc…) ?

On peut rajouter un peu de sirop de grenadine à la suspension, car le sirop n’altère pas trop l’absorption. Avec le temps, l’enfant apprendra que la prise du medicament fait partie de sa routine de vie.

 

Combien de temps va-t-il devoir prendre les médicaments (hormis le Prograf®) ?

Le tableau ci-dessous indique la règle générale, qui peut toutefois varier d’un enfant à l’autre : 

Types de médicament Durée de prise des médicaments post-greffe
Prednisolone® ou Prednisone® 3 mois suivant un schéma dégressif
Bactrim® et  Folvite® Une année
Aspirine® 3 mois
Valcyte® 6 mois
l’Ursofalk® 3-6 mois
Traitements anti-hypertenseurs :  Norvasc® (Amlodipine), Reniten® et Nifedipine en fonction de l’évolution de votre enfant
Aquadek®, Magnésium, Calcimagon D3® en fonction de l’évolution de votre enfant

 

Pourquoi mon enfant doit-il prendre tous ces médicaments et à quoi servent-ils ? Quels sont leurs effets secondaires ?

 

A partir de combien de mois post-greffe, mon enfant pourra rejoindre un jardin d’enfant, l’école,… ?

Votre enfant pourra rejoindre l’école dès que possible et pour ce qui en est de la crêche, dès le 6ème mois post-greffe (à discuter au cas par cas si la famille est en difficulté).

 

Que faire si mon fils a de la fièvre ? Dois-je venir immédiatement à l’Hôpital des enfants ou aller voir mon pédiatre ?

Vous pouvez dans un premier temps découvrir votre enfant et lui faire un bain. Si malgré tous ces moyens il a toujours de la fièvre, vous pouvez appeler votre pédiatre et ensuite lui administrer du Dafalgan®. Si la fièvre persiste malgré le Dafalgan®, amenez votre enfant chez le pédiatre, voire directement à l’Hôpital des enfants le plus proche de chez vous. Vous pouvez toujours appeler le Centre afin de parler à un membre de l’équipe qui connait votre enfant.

 

Puis-je mettre des tapis dans la chambre, parce que le sol est carrelé et que mon bébé commence à aller à 4 pattes, ou tout simplement pour qu’il puisse s’asseoir?

Vous pouvez mettre un tapis (éviter les tapis avec longs poils) pour favoriser la mobilisation de votre bébé, afin qu’il ne soit pas directement en contact avec le carrelage.

 

Faut-il stériliser les biberons après chaque utilisation ou peut-on les mettre simplement au lave-vaisselle ou les laver à la main soigneusement ?

A l’hôpital : vous devez « stériliser à froid » dans la solution de trempage les biberons, les bagues, tétines ou lolettes pendant une heure et les faire sécher ensuite.

A la maison, soit vous les mettez au lave-vaisselle, soit vous les lavez soigneusement à la main.

 

Puis-je utiliser les lingettes humides plutôt que les lingettes sèches à mouiller ?

Les lingettes humides peuvent être utilisées à condition de bien sécher le siège de l’enfant après le passage de la lingette, afin de ne pas le laisser humide. L’humidité favorise la prolifération de champignons (mycoses), surtout chez un enfant immunosupprimé.

 

Peut-on utiliser un tube de pommade déjà entamé depuis quelques jours voire quelques mois (par ex. tube Osa pour les dents) ?

Oui en respectant la date de péremption indiquée sur l’emballage.

 

A partir de quelles valeurs de tension artérielle faut-il donner ou non de l’Aprical (Nifedipine)?

Les valeurs de tension artérielle varient d’un enfant à l’autre et ne peuvent en aucun cas être généralisées. Avant votre sortie de l’hôpital, nous vous donnerons des consignes précises concernant la mesure de la tension artérielle et le traitement si nécessaire.

 

Quand et comment mesurer la tension artérielle chez les enfants greffés ?

Vérifiez toujours la pression artérielle de votre enfant avant de lui faire prendre le médicament contre l’hypertension. Chaque fois que vous prenez sa tension, notez le jour, l’heure et la valeur indiquée, ainsi que le moment où il a pris ce médicament et à quelle dose. Suivez les directives remises par votre infirmier référent en ce qui concerne l’administration du médicament contre l’hypertension. Si les valeurs de la tension artérielle sont trop hautes, n’hésitez pas à reprendre la tension deux à trois fois de suite avant d’intervenir avec un traitement anti-hypertenseur. Il est préférable de mesurer la tension artérielle lorsque votre enfant est calme.

 

Pourquoi redoute-t-on tant la varicelle ou une infection à EBV (virus Epstein-Barr ) ou CMV (Cytomégalovirus) chez un enfant immunosupprimé ?

L’immunosupression diminue la réponse immunitaire de votre enfant contre les virus. La particularité de ces virus est qu’ils peuvent se loger et se cacher dans des cellules et réapparaître plus tardivement, c’est pourquoi ils sont plus difficiles à « traiter ». Le CMV peut avoir des effets sur plusieurs organes, et peut provoquer un rejet. L’EBV peut provoquer très exceptionnellement un syndrome lymphoprolifératif (PTLD) qui s’apparente au lymphome. Enfin, le virus de la varicelle peut provoquer de nombreuses complications chez un enfant n’ayant pas développé d’immunité avant la transplantation.

 

Quels sont les dangers d’une infection pour l’enfant greffé ?

Il y a plus de risques que votre enfant développe les complications diverses d’une infection. Par exemple, s’il présente un refroidissement, il a plus de chances de développer une pneumonie ou une otite dans un deuxième temps.

 

Combien de temps doit-on garder l’Ursofalk® et l’Aquadeks® ? Est-ce que les enfants en ont systématiquement en post-greffe ?

L’Urosfalk® est gardé 3 à 6 mois après la greffe en fonction des résultats biologiques (tests hépatiques). L’Aquadeks® est nécessaire pour compenser les carences vitaminiques souvent acquises avant la greffe.

 

Nous donnons du valgancyclovir contre le CMV ? Pourquoi ne donne-t-on pas des antiviraux à large spectre pour prévenir une varicelle, un EBV,… ?

Il n’y a pas d’antiviraux prophylactiques efficaces contre ces autres virus.

 

Est-ce qu’un enfant greffé peut recevoir des vaccins ou sont-ils contre-indiqués ?

Nous attendons la fin de la première année post-greffe pour recommencer les vaccinations chez les enfants greffés, mais nous en discutons régulièrement à chaque visite. Nous vous sommes reconnaissants de toujours apporter le carnet de vaccination.

 

A quelle intervalle les enfants greffés reviennent-ils à Genève pour les contrôles ? Combien de temps dure un contrôle ? Pouvons-nous faire ces contrôles de manière ambulatoire ? Que contrôlons-nous lors de ces bilans et pourquoi ?

 

Bilan hépatique: quels examens? Comment? Pourquoi?

 

Pouvons-nous garder notre chat/chien, oiseau, lapin (animaux en général), ou devons-nous les donner à la SPA ?

La famille peut garder les animaux domestiques existants. Il ne faut pas prendre de nouveaux animaux,  au minimum pendant la1ère année qui suit la transplantation. Si la famille possède des oiseaux, l’enfant greffé n’est pas autorisé à laver la cage, et il doit éviter tout contact direct avec le(s) volatile(s). Il faut éviter les serpents et les tortues.

La règle d’hygiène de base à respecter si vous avez des animaux à la maison, c’est que l’enfant greffé et sa famille doivent se laver fréquemment les mains.