Finances and accommodation

 

In general, all hospitalisations of a child are covered by the Invalidity Insurance (IV) when your child suffers from a congenital disorder. However, the IV will not refund you for your accommodation or your meals. In some cases, the IV may bear a portion of the travel expenses. The Association pour l’aide à l’enfant greffé et à sa famille (APAEG) has apartments ranging from 2 to 3 rooms (the kitchen is counted as room in Geneva) that are intended for children (with liver disorders or liver transplanted children) and their family and located near the Children’s Hospital. The hospital is within walking distance. We will give you a plan in order to explain to you where they are located. The cost is CHF 30.- for one night, CHF 25.- per night for a stay of two to five nights and CHF 15.- for a longer stay.

Contact data of the association that manages the apartments :

 

Association pour l’aide à l’enfant greffé et à sa famille (APAEG)

Ms Georgette Genton
Phone : +41 22 793 69 38
Email : g.genton@buewin.ch

When all apartments are occupied, there is another possibility of accommodation: the Ronald McDonald Houses. These houses offer rooms at the price of CHF 20.- for a studio flat and CHF 15.- for a room per night. They are located quite close to the Children’s Hospital and within walking distance as well. The Ronald McDonald Houses are available to all parents living outside the canton of Geneva and whose child is hospitalised in Geneva for whatever pathology, not only for liver transplants.

Contact data :

Maison Ronald Mc Donald

Ms Anita Huber
Avenue de la Roseraie 35
1205 Genève – CH

Phone : +41 22 372 86 01
Fax : +41 22 372 86 03

Email : rmh.geneve@ch.mcd.com
Site

In both cases, two or more persons may stay there since the price is for the room/studio flat or apartment and does not depend on the number of persons. If this amount exceeds your financial limits, please talk to the social worker: we will always find a solution. You have the possibility to cook in all three locations. Reservations can be made by contacting Ms Genton of APAEG (+41 22 793 69 38), the transplant secretary (+41 22 372 46 60 ), or Mr. Marc Vidal, person in charge of the reception of the Paediatric Surgical Ward (+41 22 372 46 84).

Finances et logement

 

En principe, toutes les hospitalisations de l’enfant sont couvertes par l’Assurance Invalidité (A.I.), si votre enfant souffre d’une anomalie congénitale. Cependant, l’A.I. ne rembourse ni votre logement, ni vos repas. Dans certains cas, l’A.I. peut participer aux frais de déplacement. L’ Association pour l’aide à l’enfant greffé et à sa famille (APAEG) dispose de logements allant de 2 à 3 pièces (la cuisine est comptée à Genève comme pièce) prévus pour les enfants (malades ou greffés du foie) et leur famille à proximité de l’Hôpital des enfants. Vous pouvez vous y rendre à pied. Nous vous fournirons un plan afin de vous expliquer où ils se situent. Ils sont payants et les tarifs sont les suivants : CHF 30.- pour un séjour d’une nuit, CHF 25.- par nuit pour un séjour de deux à cinq nuits et CHF 15.- pour un séjour plus long.

Voici les coordonnées de l’association qui gère les logements :

 

Association pour l’aide à l’enfant greffé et à sa famille (APAEG)

Mme Georgette Genton
Chemin des Pâquerettes 7
1213 Petit-Lancy – CH

Tel. : +41 22 793 69 38

Email :g.genton@bluewin.ch

Si tous les appartements sont occupés, il existe une autre possibilité de logement : il s’agit des Maisons Ronald McDonald. Ces maisons proposent des chambres aux prix de CHF 20 .— pour un studio et CHF 15.— pour une chambre et par nuit. Elles sont toutes proches de l’Hôpital des Enfants et vous pouvez vous y rendre à pied également. Les Maisons Ronald McDonald sont à la disposition de tous les parents vivant hors du Canton de Genève dont l’enfant est hospitalisé à Genève pour n’importe quelle pathologie, et pas seulement pour les greffes de foie.

Voici les coordonnées :

Maison Ronald Mc Donald

Mme Anita Huber
Avenue de la Roseraie 35
1205 Genève – CH

Tel. : +41 22 372 86 01
Fax : +41 22 372 86 03

Email : rmh.info@ch.mcd.com
Site

Dans les deux cas, il vous est possible de loger à deux personnes ou plus, car le prix fixé est en fonction de la chambre/studio ou l’appartement, et non pas du nombre de personnes. Si cette somme dépasse vos possibilités financières, il faut en parler à l’assistant social : il y a souvent un moyen de s’arranger. Dans les trois endroits, vous avez la possibilité de cuisiner. Les réservations se font en collaboration entre Madame Genton de l’APAEG (+41 22 793 69 38), les secrétaires de Transplantations (+41 22 372 46 60) et Monsieur Marc Vidal  responsable de l’accueil du Service de Chirurgie Pédiatrique (+41 22 372 46 84).