LOGISTICS AND ORGANISATION

 

What accommodations are available to accommodate my family? What are the costs? How long may I stay there? Where are they located? How can I get there (by foot, by car)?

Apartments from 1 to 3 rooms (the kitchen is counted as room in Geneva) that are intended for children (with liver disorders or liver transplanted children) and their family are available near the Children’s hospital, within walking distance. We will give you a plan in order to explain to you where they are located. The cost is CHF 30.- for one night, CHF 25.- per night for a stay of two to five nights and CHF 15.- for a longer stay.

Below, you can find the contact details of the association managing the apartments. We will see to reserve you an apartment as soon as we know that your child is transferred to Geneva.

 

Association pour l’aide à l’enfant greffé et à sa famille (APAEG)

Mme Georgette Genton
Chemin des Pâquerettes 7
1213 Petit-Lancy

Tel. : +41 22 793 69 38

Email : apaeg@buewin.ch

When all apartments are occupied, there is another possibility of accommodation: the Ronald McDonald Houses. These houses offer rooms at the price of CHF 20.- for a studio flat and CHF 15.- for a room per night. They are located quite close to the Children’s Hospital and within walking distance as well.

 

Contact details:

Maison Ronald Mc Donald

Mme Anita Huber
Avenue de la Roseraie 35
1205 Genève

Tel. : +41 22 382 86 01
Fax : +41 22 382 86 03

E-mail: rmh.geneve@ch.mcd.com

Site : www.ronaldmcdonald-house.ch

Reservations can be made by contacting Ms Genton of APAEG (+41 22 793 69 38), Ms De Haller, transplant secretary (+41 22 382 46 60), or Mr. Marc Vidal, person in charge of the reception of the Paediatric Surgical Ward (+41 22 382 46 84).

 

May I park my car in front of the paediatric hospital during our stay?

You may park your car in the parking lot in front of the Children’s Hospital (except in the emergency slots) the first and the last day of your stay as long as you renew your parking badge (at the reception).
However, as far as possible, it is warmly recommended to take the train since there is heavy car traffic in Geneva and the parking spaces in front of the Children’s Hospital are not always available.

 

Do I have to stop working?

Depending on the diagnosis made by the physicians, your child’s stay may be more or less long. It is obvious that in case of a graft you will be much present at the hospital and it is preferable to either ask your employer for unpaid leave or to ask your attending physician for a medical certificate, in case of need. Moreover, when the working conditions do not permit it and one parent or both parents must work, you can ask your family (grandparents, uncles, aunts…) or friends to accompany your child to hospital as far as possible. In addition, we will make a “social evaluation” at the beginning of hospitalisation with the social worker and a referral nurse for children with liver disorders in order to better meet your needs.

 

Who can look after my other children here while I am at the Children’s Hospital?

When elder brothers or sisters are present at the Hospital and you need to be with your “diseased” child, you can either make your family look after them (grandparents,…), or send them to a day nursery called ”Tom Pouce” located at the Maternity Ward, directly next to the Children’s Hospital. The day nursery is open on weekdays from 8.30 a.m. to 12 o’clock noon and from 1 p.m. to 5 p.m. and children aged two to four are admitted. On Wednesdays and during school holidays, children aged two to ten are admitted. They are looked after by an early childhood professional and an assistant, supervised by the day nurseries of the HUG.

 

Is my child eligible for disability insurance (AI)?

Your child’s diagnosis and the contributions to AVS/AI made by the parents will determine whether your child is eligible for AI.

 

Do parents benefit from meal distribution? Is there a restaurant near the hospital?

The unit does not provide meals for the parents – only for hospitalised children. You may, however, eat at the cafeteria (opening hours: from Monday to Friday: 7.30 a.m. – 7 p.m. – Meals from: 11.20 a.m. to 1.30 p.m. and 5 p.m. to 6.30 p.m. Weekend and holidays: 8.30 a.m. to 10 a.m./10.50 a.m. to 4 p.m.). You can also go to a restaurant. There are several near the hospital.

Another possibility is to go shopping and to eat at the apartment (Coop and Migros shops at 10 minutes from the hospital, rue de Carouge).

 

May we sleep next to our child?

A cot will be placed at your disposal so that you may sleep next to your child, but only one parent is allowed to spend the night in hospital.

 

Do you have a map of the city?

In case of need, we can print out a route (Internet) for you to get from one point to another in the city of Geneva.

LOGISTIK UND ORGANISATION

 

Welche Möglichkeiten haben Sie, meine Familie unterzubringen? Kostet das etwas? Wie lange kann ich bleiben? Wo befinden sich die Unterbringungsmöglichkeiten? Wie komme ich dort hin (zu Fuss, mit dem Auto)?

Wir verfügen über Wohnungen mit 2 bis 3 Zimmern (die Küche zählt in Genf als Zimmer), die für Kinder (kranke und lebertransplantierte) und ihre Familien vorgesehen sind. Sie befinden sich in der Nähe des Kinderspitals und sind zu Fuss erreichbar. Von uns erhalten Sie einen Plan, mit dessen Hilfe Sie sie finden. Sie werden zu folgenden Tarifen zur Verfügung gestellt: CHF 30.– für eine Nacht, CHF 25.– pro Nacht bei einem Aufenthalt von zwei bis fünf Nächten und CHF 15.– pro Nacht bei längeren Aufenthalten.

Hier ist die Adresse des Verbandes, der diese Wohnungen verwaltet. Wir reservieren Ihnen eine Wohnung, sobald wir wissen, dass Ihr Kind nach Genf gebracht wird.

 

Association pour l’aide à l’enfant greffé et à sa famille (APAEG)

Mme Georgette Genton
Chemin des Pâquerettes 7
1213 Petit-Lancy

Tel. : +41 22 793 69 38

Email : apaeg@buewin.ch

Wenn diese Wohnungen belegt sind, haben wir eine weitere Unterbringungsmöglichkeit, die Maisons Ronald McDonald. Diese Häuser bieten 1-Zimmer-Appartements zum Preis von CHF 20.– und einzelne Zimmer für 15.– pro Nacht an. Sie befinden sich ganz in der Nähe des Kinderspitals und sind ebenfalls zu Fuss zu erreichen.

 

Die Adresse:

Maison Ronald Mc Donald

Mme Anita Huber
Avenue de la Roseraie 35
1205 Genève

Tel. : +41 22 382 86 01
Fax : +41 22 382 86 03

E-mail : rmh.geneve@ch.mcd.com

Site : www.ronaldmcdonald-house.ch 

Reservierungen sind vorzunehmen bei Frau Genton der APAEG (+41 22 793 69 38), Frau De Haller Transplantationssekretärin (+41 22 382 46 60) und Herrn Marc Vidal, Leiter des Empfangs der kinderchirurgischen Abteilung (+41 22 382 46 84).

 

Darf ich mein Auto während des Aufenthaltes vor dem Kinderspital parkieren ?

Das Parkieren auf den Parkplätzen vor dem Kinderspital (ausser den Stellplätzen vor dem Notfall) ist am ersten Tag und am letzten Tag Ihres Aufenthaltes erlaubt. Dafür ist jedoch  ein Ticket (erhältlich am Empfang) nötig.
Wir empfehlen jedoch, nach Möglichkeit den Zug zu nehmen, da der Autoverkehr in Genf sehr dicht ist und an der Kinderklinik nicht immer Plätze zur Verfügung stehen.

 

Muss ich meine Arbeit aufgeben?

Je nach der von den Ärzten gestellten Diagnose kann der Aufenthalt Ihres Kindes mehr oder weniger lang dauern. Im Fall einer Transplantation werden Sie natürlich sehr viel Zeit im Spital verbringen, so dass es sinnvoll ist, entweder Ihren Arbeitgeber um unbezahlte Ferien zu bitten oder bei Bedarf von Ihrem behandelnden Arzt eine entsprechende Bescheinigung einzuholen. Wenn die Arbeitsbedingungen es nicht zulassen und wenn ein Elternteil oder sogar beide unbedingt arbeiten müssen, können Sie auch Familienmitglieder (Grosseltern, Onkel, Tanten usw.) oder Freunde bitten, Ihr Kind im Spital so gut wie möglich zu begleiten. Andererseits erstellen wir zu Beginn des Spitalaufenthaltes zusammen mit dem Sozialarbeiter und dem Bezugspfleger eine „soziale Bilanz“ für leberkranke Kinder, um ihre Bedürfnisse optimal berücksichtigen zu können.

 

Wer kann sich während meines Aufenthaltes im Kinderspital um meine anderen Kinder kümmern ?

Wenn grössere Geschwister im Spital dabei sind, wenn Sie bei Ihrem „kranken“ Kind sein müssen, können Sie sie entweder von Familienmitgliedern (Grosseltern usw.) betreuen lassen oder sie in den Kinderhort „Tom Pouce“ bringen, der sich in der Entbindungsabteilung direkt neben dem Kinderspital befindet. Er hat folgende Öffnungszeiten: wochentags von 8:30 Uhr bis 12 Uhr und von 13 bis 17 Uhr. Es werden Kinder zwischen zwei und vier Jahren aufgenommen. Am Mittwoch und während der Schulferien werden Kinder von zwei bis zehn Jahren akzeptiert. Sie werden von einer Fachkraft für Kleinkinder und von einer Hilfskraft betreut, die der Aufsicht der Kinderkrippen des HUG unterstehen.

 

Welche Bedingungen der Invalidenversicherung (IV) müssen erfüllt sein, damit mein Kind Anrecht auf eine IV-Rente hat?

Das hängt von der gestellten Diagnose und von den Beiträgen der Eltern an die AHV/IV ab. 

 

Haben die Eltern Anrecht auf Mahlzeiten? Gibt es in der Nähe des Spitals ein Restaurant?

Mahlzeiten für die Eltern sind nicht vorgesehen, sondern nur für die eingewiesenen Kinder. Sie können sich jedoch in der Cafeteria verpflegen (Öffnungszeiten: von Montag bis Freitag: 7 Uhr 30 bis 19 Uhr – Mahlzeiten: 11 Uhr 20 bis 13 Uhr 30 und 17 Uhr bis 18 Uhr 30. Wochenenden und Feiertage: 8 Uhr 30 bis 10 Uhr / 10 Uhr 50 bis 16 Uhr). Zudem gibt es in der Nähe des Spitals zahlreiche Restaurants.

Eine weitere Möglichkeit besteht darin, einzukaufen und in der Wohnung zu essen (Coop und Migros in 10 Minuten vom Spital, Rue de Carouge).

 

Können wir bei unserem Kind schlafen ?

Ein Klappbett steht Ihnen zur Verfügung, damit Sie bei Ihrem Kind übernachten können. Es kann jedoch nur ein Elternteil die Nacht im Spital verbringen.

 

Haben Sie einen Stadtplan?

Bei Bedarf können wir Ihnen einen Weg ausdrucken (Internet), damit Sie in der Stadt Genf von einem Punkt zu einem anderen finden.