Alagille syndrome

 

Alagille syndrome is a genetic disorder comprising a series of symptoms and clinical signs. This rare disease affects 1 child in 100,000 births. It is caused by a chromosomal modification of the JAG1 gene on chromosome 20 or of the NOTCH2 gene on chromosome 1. The mutation may either occur during the embryonic period and, in this case, it is considered as de novo, or be inherited from a parent. The diagnosis can thus be confirmed by a gene analysis.

Prolonged jaundice (icterus) in the newborn often is the first clinical sign of this disease. This icterus is associated with neonatal cholestasis (biliary stasis) due to an insufficient number of bile ducts. This reduced number of bile ducts inside the liver also results in an accumulation of conjugated bilirubin in the blood. Besides the jaundice, the child may present itching, called pruritus, caused by an elevated level of conjugated bilirubin. The other symptoms and signs of Alagille syndrome are heart defects (pulmonary stenosis being the most common one), vertebral malformations with an unusual butterfly shape of the bones of the spinal column that can be seen in an x-ray, characteristic facial features, an anomaly of the iris called embryotoxon (fat depot around the iris), kidney problems and shortness.

Treatment depends on the manifestation of symptoms that may vary. Some patients mainly only have heart problems. In case of persistent jaundice, dietary measures are recommended in order to ensure good growth and avoid vitamin deficiencies. Pruritus can be alleviated by a drug called rifampicin. Liver transplantation is indicated when the pruritus is refractory to drug treatment or when the disease develops and results in the complication of chronic liver disease.

Dr. Veronica Varela

2011

Alagille Syndrom

 

Das Alagille-Syndrom ist eine genetische Krankheit mit einer Reihe von Symptomen und klinischen Merkmalen. Diese seltene Krankheit betrifft ein Kind auf 100’000 Geburten. Sie wird ausgelöst durch eine Mutation des JAG1-Gens auf Chromosom 20 oder des NOTCH2-Gens auf Chromosom 1. Die Mutation kann sich im embryonalen Stadium vollziehen und wird in diesem Fall als „de novo“ betrachtet oder kann durch einen Elternteil übertragen werden. Mit einer Genanalyse lässt sich also die Diagnose bestätigen.

Eine länger dauernde Gelbsucht (Ikterus) beim Neugeborenen ist oft die erste Erscheinungsform der Krankheit. Dies ist die häufigste Ursache einer neonatalen Cholestase (eingeschränkte Galleausscheidung) aufgrund eines Mangels an Gallengängen. Diese verringerte Anzahl von Gallengängen in der Leber führt auch zu einer Ansammlung von konjugiertem Bilirubin im Blut. Neben der Gelbsucht kann das Kind daher unter Juckreiz leiden, den man Pruritus nennt und der durch den hohen Spiegel des konjugierten Bilirubins hervorgerufen wird. Die anderen Symptome und Anzeichen des Alagille-Syndroms sind Fehlbildungen des Herzens (wobei die häufigste die Stenose der Lungenarterie ist), Anomalien der Wirbelsäule mit Schmetterlingswirbeln auf den Röntgenaufnahmen, eine charakteristische Gesichtsform, eine als Embryotoxon bezeichnete Anomalie der Iris (Fettablagerungen um die Iris), Nierenprobleme und eine geringe Grösse.

Die Behandlung hängt vom Erscheinungsbild der Symptome ab, das unterschiedlich aussehen kann. Einige Patienten haben im Wesentlichen ausschliesslich Herzprobleme. Im Falle einer anhaltenden Gelbsucht empfiehlt es sich daher, Diätmassnahmen zu ergreifen, um ein gutes Wachstum sicherzustellen und Vitaminmangel vorzubeugen. Der Pruritus kann durch das Medikament Rifampicin gelindert werden. Eine Lebertransplantation ist angezeigt, wenn der Pruritus gegen die medikamentöse Behandlung refraktär ist oder wenn sich die Krankheit in Richtung von Komplikationen einer chronischen Lebererkrankung entwickelt.

Dr. Veronica Varela

2011