Hepatoblastoma and liver tumours in children

 

Liver tumours are rare in children. They represent 1% of all solid paediatric tumours and are malignant in 2/3 of all cases. Two types of tumours account for 90% of malignant tumours (excluding metastases). First of all, the hepatoblastoma which appears every year in 1 in a million children and usually occurs before the age of three. Second, the hepatocellular carcinoma which is much rarer and more likely occurs in adolescents. The carcinoma may be associated with a pre-existing liver disease and, in this case, it manifests earlier in childhood. Finally, there is a third type of tumour, which, however, is much rarer than hepatoblastoma and hepatocellular carcinoma, this is the sarcoma. It represents 10% of all liver tumours and generally affects older children. Benign liver tumours are mainly of vascular origin (haemangioma, haemangioendothelioma), followed in order of frequency by mesenchymal hamartoma, focal nodular hyperplasia and adenoma.

The main symptoms of all these liver tumours are a generally palpable liver and abdominal pain. High-quality imaging including computer tomography (CT-Scan or scanner) or magnetic resonance imaging (MRI) is required for the diagnosis and for the preoperative assessment of the tumour size. In many cases, a biopsy of the tumour must be performed under general anaesthesia.

The treatment of malignant tumours aims at achieving complete surgical removal. This operation is nearly always combined with chemotherapy before and after the operation. When the tumour cannot be removed by surgery, liver transplant may be an option to cure the child. The progresses achieved in medical and surgical healthcare have contributed considerably to the improvement of the prognosis of children affected by one of these tumours.

Benign tumours, however, are monitored. When these tumours turn out to be locally invasive, they are treated either by ablation surgery or by procedures of interventional radiology.

Dr. Eliane Rahal

2011

Hepatoblastom und Lebertumore beim Kind

 

Lebertumore sind bei Kindern selten. Sie stellen 1% aller pädiatrischen Gewebstumore dar und sind in 2/3 aller Fälle bösartig. 90% der bösartigen Tumore (ohne Metastasen) machen zwei Tumortypen aus. Erstens das Hepatoblastom, von dem eines von einer Million Kindern jährlich betroffen ist und das normalerweise vor dem Alter von 3 Jahren auftritt. Zweitens das hepatozelluläre Karzinom, das wesentlich seltener ist und eher bei Jugendlichen auftritt. Das Karzinom kann mit einer bestehenden Leberkrankheit einhergehen und tritt in solchen Fällen eher in der Kindheit auf. Schliesslich gibt es einen dritten Tumortyp, der jedoch wesentlich seltener ist als das Hepatoblastom und das hepatozelluläre Karzinom. Es handelt sich um das Sarkom. Es macht 10% der Lebertumore aus und trifft in der Regel bereits grosse Kinder. Gutmütige Lebertumore haben ihren Ursprung in den Gefässen (Hämangiom, Hämangioendotheliom), gefolgt in ihrer Häufigkeit vom mesenchymalen Hamartom, von der fokal nodulären Hyperplasie und dem Adenom.

Die wichtigsten Symptome dieser Lebertumore sind eine durch Betasten spürbare Lebermasse und Bauchschmerzen. Für die Diagnose und die Beurteilung der präoperativen Tumorausdehnung sind hochwertige bildgebende Verfahren erforderlich. Hierzu gehören eine Computertomographie (CT) oder eine Kernspintomographie (Magnetrsesonanztomographie, MRT). Oft muss eine Biopsie des Tumors unter Vollnarkose durchgeführt werden.

Ziel der Behandlung von bösartigen Tumoren ist es, eine vollständige operative Entfernung zu erreichen. Diese Operation wird fast immer von einer Chemotherapie vor und nach dem Eingriff begleitet. Wenn der Tumor sich nicht chirurgisch entfernen lässt, bietet die Lebertransplantation eine Heilungsmöglichkeit für das Kind. Die Fortschritte in der medizinisch-chirurgischen Betreuung haben in erheblichem Masse zu einer Verbesserung der Prognose für Kinder, die an einem dieser Tumore leiden, beigetragen.

Gutartige Tumore werden hingegen beobachtet. Sie fallen entweder in das Gebiet der chirurgischen Ablation (operative Entfernung) oder der radiologischen Intervention (Bestrahlung), wenn sich diese Tumore als örtlich raumfordernd erweisen.

Dr. Eliane Rahal

2011