The Team

 

During the evaluation, you will meet many members of the liver transplant team. Every member has a special task to perform during the evaluation process, at the moment of the graft and afterwards. The persons who you will probably meet and their respective roles in the graft process are as follows (for the sake of simplicity and easier reading, the masculine form is used for persons):

 

THE REFERRAL NURSE

The referral nurse for children with liver disorders or liver transplanted children and their families coordinates the evaluation that will have been scheduled by the transplant secretary. He informs you on the activities of the ward, the course of events during the hospitalisation, the medical-surgical team who will care for you. He acts as a link between you and all different persons involved and he will be your first contact for every hospitalisation.

 

THE INTERNAL SPECIALIST, THE HEAD OF DEPARTMENT AND THE GASTROENTEROLOGIST

They verify that the diagnosis of liver disease established in the beginning is correct and work together with the surgeon responsible for the liver transplant in order to evaluate the degree of severity of the liver disease and the necessity of a graft. They are your main liver specialists before and after the graft. Before the graft, they will take your child by the hand and establish a health and healthcare plan intended to keep your child in his best possible form.

The internal specialist is the person to contact when you have any questions regarding your child’s evaluation and the current treatment. He is supervised by the head of department who is a physician who has completed his training and by the gastroenterologist who is the senior physician of the subspecialty of paediatric gastroenterology.

 

THE SURGEON RESPONSIBLE FOR THE GRAFT

He works together with the gastroenterologist to evaluate the extent of the liver disease and the advisability of a graft. He will discuss the risks and the advantages of the surgery with you and he will be your main liver specialist during your stay at the hospital for the graft.

 

THE SOCIAL WORKER

He examines your child’s current social situation thoroughly in order to make sure that adequate support systems are available to contribute to the success of the graft. In case of need, he may help you with respect to accommodation and transportation at the moment of the graft.

He analyses your financial situation and checks that you have enough funds to cover the expenses associated with the graft. He will examine with you the particular insurance benefits which you are entitled to, answer all questions that you may have regarding the financial arrangements regarding the graft and help you to find supplementary financial resources if this proves to be necessary.

 

THE DIETICIAN

He carries out a complete nutritional evaluation of your child from his birth to present, focussing his attention in particular on his growth development. He works together with the gastroenterologist to prepare a plan that ensures the best nutrition for your child while waiting for the graft and after the surgery.

 

THE NEPHROLOGIST, THE CARDIOLOGIST, THE PNEUMOLOGIST, THE INFECTIOLOGIST, THE NEUROLOGIST, THE ANAESTHESIOLOGIST, THE PSYCHIATRIST, THE TRANSPLANT COORDINATING NURSE AND THE RADIOLOGIST

Dr. Anne-Laure Rougemont shall process liver biopsies of your child, a very important diagnostic element. Physicians of different subspecialties will examine your child in order to evaluate the function of your child’s kidneys, heart, lungs, immune system, mental and physical development as well as to understand his disease before and after the graft. The anaesthesiologist will discuss the specific details of anaesthesia for the intervention with you. The psychiatrist will analyse your personal experience of your child’s disease with you and your child. The transplant coordinating nurse will talk with you about the organ donation and the course of events on the day of the graft. The radiologist will examine your child’s anatomy in order to prepare some kind of anatomical map for the surgeon.

L’équipe

Au cours de l’évaluation vous rencontrerez de nombreux membres de l’équipe de greffe du foie. Chacun d’entre eux a une tâche particulière à accomplir au cours du processus d’évaluation, au moment de la greffe et par la suite. Les personnes que vous êtes susceptibles de rencontrer et leurs rôles respectifs dans le processus de greffe sont les suivants (l’emploi du masculin pour désigner des personnes a été choisi pour ne pas alourdir le texte).

 

L’INFIRMIER REFERENT

L’infirmier référent pour les enfants malades ou greffés du foie, et leur famille, coordonne l’évaluation qui aura été programmée par le secrétaire de transplantation. Il vous informe au sujet du fonctionnement du service, du déroulement de l’hospitalisation, de l’équipe médico-chirurgicale qui va vous prendre en charge. C’est lui qui fait le lien entre vous et tous les différents intervenants et il sera votre premier contact lors de chaque hospitalisation.

 

LE MEDECIN INTERNE, LE CHEF DE CLINIQUE ET LE GASTRO-ENTEROLOGUE

Ils vérifient que le diagnostic de maladie hépatique établi à l’origine est correct, et collaborent avec le chirurgien responsable de la greffe du foie pour évaluer le degré de gravité de la maladie hépatique et de la nécessité d’une greffe. Ils sont vos principaux médecins spécialistes du foie avant et après la greffe. Avant la greffe, ils vont prendre en main votre enfant et établir un plan de santé et de soins destiné à garder votre enfant en meilleure forme possible.

Le médecin interne est la personne à contacter si vous avez des questions à poser sur l’évaluation de votre enfant et sur le traitement en cours. Il est supervisé par le chef de clinique, qui est un médecin en fin de formation et par le gastro-entérologue qui est le médecin cadre de la sous-spécialité de gastro-entérologie pédiatrique.

LE CHIRURGIEN RESPONSABLE DE LA GREFFE

Il collabore avec le gastro-entérologue pour évaluer l’ampleur de la maladie hépatique et l’opportunité de procéder à une greffe. Il discutera avec vous des risques et des avantages de l’opération et sera votre principal médecin spécialiste du foie durant votre séjour à l’hôpital pour la transplantation.

 

L’ASSISTANT SOCIAL

Il examine attentivement la situation sociale actuelle de votre enfant, afin de veiller à ce que des systèmes d’appui adéquats soient disponibles pour contribuer à assurer le succès de la greffe.  En cas de besoin, il peut vous aider en matière de logement et de transport au moment de la greffe.

Il étudie votre situation financière et s’assure que vous disposez de suffisamment de fonds pour couvrir les frais liés à la greffe. Il examine avec vous les prestations d’assurances particulières auxquelles vous avez droit, répond à toutes les questions que vous vous posez au sujet des arrangements financiers relatifs à la greffe et vous aide à trouver des ressources financières supplémentaires si cela s’avère nécessaire.

 

LE DIETETICIEN

Il procède à une évaluation nutritionnelle complète de votre enfant depuis sa naissance jusqu’à maintenant, en prêtant notamment une attention particulière à la manière dont sa croissance s’est déroulée. Il collabore avec le gastro-entérologue pour mettre sur pied un programme assurant à votre enfant la meilleure nutrition dans l’attente de la greffe et après l’opération.

 

LE NEPHROLOGUE, LE CARDIOLOGUE, LE PNEUMOLOGUE, L’INFECTIOLOGUE, LE NEUROLOGUE, L’ANESTHESISTE, LE PSYCHIATRE, L’INFIRMIER COORDINATEUR DE TRANSPLANTATION ET LE RADIOLOGUE

La Dre Anne-Laure Rougemont traitera les biopsie de foie de votre enfant, un élément diagnostic très important. Les médecins des différentes sous-spécialités examineront votre enfant pour évaluer les fonctions des reins, du cœur, des poumons, du système immunitaire, du développement mental et physique de votre enfant, ainsi qu’à comprendre sa maladie avant et après la greffe. L’anesthésiste vous parlera plus spécifiquement du côté anesthésique de l’intervention. Le psychiatre fera le point avec vous et votre enfant sur votre vécu de sa maladie. L’infirmier coordinateur de transplantation vous parlera du don d’organe et du déroulement du jour-même de la greffe. Le radiologue étudiera l’anatomie de votre enfant pour préparer une sorte de carte anatomique pour le chirurgien.