The Centre

 

Welcome to the Swiss Reference Centre for Liver Disorders in Children!

University Hospitals Geneva (HUG) and its affiliated Children’s Hospital are recognized as the national centre providing care for children suffering from a liver disorder – like your child. We are here to find a diagnosis, propose state-of-the-art treatments and guide you in caring for your child. We work as a team, and you are part of that team, as are your child’s other medical caregivers.

This website will provide you with information on some of the liver disorders in children. You will learn what is meant by “liver transplant”, and you will get acquainted with the main people you are going to meet in our establishment. You will also find a FAQ list and practical information to help you with your arrival and accommodation in Geneva.

Our team is made up of various specialists in the medical and surgical treatments for liver disorders in children. This is why the HUG have been recognised nationally as the reference centre for paediatric hepatobiliary disorders. We have been practising liver transplants in children since 1989, and have performed over 120 transplants. The survival rate is greater than 90%, which is one of the highest in Europe. Every year we treat liver disorders in some 200 children of all ages who come from all over Switzerland and sometimes from abroad.

Geneva is French-speaking, but we all make an effort to speak your language. Almost all of us speak French, (Swiss) German, English and also Italian or Spanish, so we are sure to find a common language!

Our centre, which is recognised both nationally and internationally, favours a multidisciplinary and integrated approach to treating children with liver diseases. You will be meeting hepatologists, perhaps surgeons, anaesthetists, specialised nurses, and many others. We make it a point to work closely together with other actors in treating your child: your paediatrician, your child gastroenterologist, your regional referral centre – and you. It is thanks to this collaboration that we can provide you and your child with a warm welcome and professional, state-of-the-art care.

Le centre

 

Bienvenue au Centre Suisse de Référence des Maladies du Foie de l’Enfant !

Les Hôpitaux Universitaires de Genève (HUG) et son Hôpital des Enfants sont le siège du centre national qui prend en charge les enfants atteints d’une maladie du foie – comme votre enfant. Nous sommes là pour trouver le diagnostic, pour vous proposer des traitements de pointe, et pour vous guider dans la prise en charge de votre enfant. Nous travaillons en équipe, une équipe dont vous faites partie, tout comme les autres soignants de votre enfant.

Sur ce site,  vous découvrirez des informations concernant quelques maladies du foie de l’enfant, vous apprendrez ce que veut dire le terme « greffe hépatique », et vous ferez la connaissance des personnes principales que vous allez rencontrer chez nous. Vous trouverez également une foire-aux-questions (FAQ) et des informations pratiques pour faciliter votre arrivée à Genève et votre logement.

Notre équipe est constituée de plusieurs spécialistes dans les traitements médicaux et chirurgicaux spécifiques aux maladies du foie de l’enfant, raison pour laquelle les HUG ont été reconnus au niveau national comme le centre de référence des maladies hépatobiliaires de l’enfant. Pour les cas sévères, nous pratiquons la transplantation de foie chez l’enfant depuis 1989, et déjà plus de 162 enfants ont été transplantés depuis. Leur taux de survie, de plus de 90%, est un des plus élevé d’Europe. Nous voyons environs 230 enfants par année, de tous âges, qui viennent de toute la Suisse et parfois de l’étranger pour se faire soigner de leur maladie du foie.

Genève est francophone, mais nous essayons tous de parler votre langue. Presque chacun d’entre nous parle français, (suisse-)allemand, anglais et aussi italien ou espagnol ; nous trouverons donc une langue commune!

Notre centre, reconnu tant au niveau suisse qu’international, favorise une approche multidisciplinaire et intégrée de la prise en charge des enfants malades du foie. Vous allez rencontrer des hépatologues, peut-être des chirurgiens, des anesthésistes, des infirmiers spécialisés, et d’autres encore. Nous nous efforçons de collaborer étroitement avec d’autres acteurs dans la prise en charge de votre enfant : votre pédiatre, votre gastroentérologue pédiatrique, le centre régional référent – et vous. C’est grâce à cette collaboration que nous parvenons à vous offrir, ainsi qu’à votre enfant, une prise en charge de pointe, professionnelle et chaleureuse.