Routine healthcare

 

 

VACCINATION

When your child has not been vaccinated before the graft, the proposed vaccination schedule must be implemented as soon as our infectiologists recommend, in general 12 months after the graft. If possible, all family members must get a vaccination against varicella before the child undergoes the transplant. In case of an outbreak of measles or varicella in your region, please contact the Centre.

It is recommended that the vaccine series against pneumococcus, hepatitis A and hepatitis B be administered to your child before the graft. If he has not been vaccinated against hepatitis A or B, discuss this point with the internal specialist and your paediatrician to plan a vaccination schedule. The levels of antibodies against hepatitis A and hepatitis B will be checked annually. The annual vaccination against influenza is also recommended for the whole family.

Recommendations for immunization of solid organ transplant candidates and recipients

My vaccines

 

 

ORAL HYGIENE AND DENTAL HYGIENE

As soon as your child has teeth, you must start brushing them. In the beginning, use a wet toothbrush for children without toothpaste. When your child can hold a toothbrush, let him learn how to brush his teeth himself with little toothpaste, but thoroughly brush his teeth yourself afterwards. Teach him to do this after the meals and before going to sleep. Your child’s teeth must be examined and cleaned regularly, at least once per year – more often if your dentist requests it.

Dental exams and care do not require any preventive antibiotic therapy.

In case of an indication of antibiotic therapy by a dentist, it is the dentist who shall prescribe it, account taking of the list of treatments interacting with the tacrolimus supplied by you.

Link to the list of interactions

 

EYE EXAMINATIONS

Persons receiving steroids (Solumedrol or prednisone) may have a mildly blurred vision when high doses are administered. When your child complains of visual disturbances, he must be examined by an ophthalmologist. Moreover, he must undergo an annual eye examination to detect any change.

NUTRITION

Soins de santé courants

 

VACCINATION

Si votre enfant n’a pas été vacciné avant la greffe, il faut entreprendre le programme de vaccination proposé dès que nos médecins-infectiologues le recommandent, en général dès 12 mois post greffe. Tous les membres de la famille doivent si possible se faire vacciner contre la varicelle avant que l’enfant subisse la greffe. En cas de flambée de rougeole ou de varicelle dans votre région, veuillez contacter le Centre.

Il est recommandé que la série de vaccins contre le pneumocoque, l’hépatite A et l’hépatite B, soit administrée à votre enfant avant la greffe. S’il n’a pas été vacciné contre l’hépatite A ou B, parlez-en avec le médecin interne et votre pédiatre pour qu’un programme de vaccination soit établi. Les taux d’anticorps contre l’hépatite A et l’hépatite B seront contrôlés annuellement. La vaccination annuelle contre la grippe est aussi recommandée pour toute la famille.

Recommendations for immunization of solid organ transplant candidates and recipients

Mes vaccins

 

SOINS DE BOUCHE ET SOINS DENTAIRES

Dès que votre enfant a des dents, vous devez commencer à les brosser. Utilisez au début une brosse à dent pour enfants humide sans dentifrice. Quand votre enfant est capable de tenir une brosse à dents, laissez-le apprendre à se brosser les dents lui-même avec un peu de dentifrice mais faites-lui ensuite vous-même un brossage soigneux des dents. Apprenez-lui à le faire après les repas et avant d’aller se coucher. Votre enfant a besoin que ses dents soient régulièrement examinées et nettoyées. Il faut le faire au moins une fois par an – plus souvent si votre dentiste le demande.

Les contrôles et soins dentaires ne nécessitent aucune antibiothérapie préventive

S’il y a une indication du dentiste à un traitement antibiotique c’est lui qui le prescrira en fonction de la liste des traitements interagissant avec le tacrolimus que vous lui fournirez.

Lien vers liste interaction

 

EXAMENS DE LA VUE

Les personnes qui reçoivent des stéroïdes (Solumedrol ou prednisone) peuvent avoir une vision un peu trouble si les doses sont élevées. Si votre enfant se plaint de troubles de la vision, d’être incapable de lire le tableau à l’école, ou si vous le surprenez à loucher, il faut le faire examiner par un ophtalmologue. Il doit en outre se soumettre à un examen annuel de la vue pour permettre de détecter tout changement.

 

NUTRITION