Wilson’s disease

 

Wilson’s disease is a rare hereditary genetic disease. It is characterised by the toxic accumulation of copper in various organs, mainly in the liver and in the brain. The estimated prevalence of the disease (number of cases at a specific point in time) is between 1 in 30,000 individuals and 1 in 100,000, depending on the countries. Girls and boys are affected equally by this disorder.

The first clinical manifestations do not appear before the age of 3 years, most frequently during adolescence (10-20 years of age). It takes indeed several years after birth before the accumulation of copper becomes toxic to the organism. Liver damage may present itself as jaundice (icterus), increase in liver volume (hepatomegaly), and even, in the most advanced cases, as accumulation of fluid in the abdomen, called “ascites”. Brain damage often manifests later from adolescence on. It may result in various symptoms depending on the zone that is damaged. Initial symptoms include learning problems, trembling, difficulty in swallowing, and difficulty in writing or speaking. Some persons affected may also have psychiatric problems. The diagnosis is difficult. Several complementary examinations are necessary: blood analyses, urinalyses, liver biopsy. A genetic mutation analysis is carried out on the patient in order to confirm the diagnosis and on the other family members in order to identify the carriers of the disease.

A drug treatment is available that must be taken for life. This treatment aims at lowering the level of cooper in the organism. A diet low in copper-containing food is also recommended in addition to drug treatment. The prognosis of Wilson’s disease depends on how early the diagnosis is made and how quickly a therapy is initiated. When the disease is diagnosed rather late (for example during adolescence), liver damage has advanced to a point where a liver transplant often is the only treatment option.

Dr. Aude Tonson-LaTour
2011

La maladie de Wilson

 

La maladie de Wilson est une maladie génétique héréditaire rare. Elle est caractérisée par l’accumulation toxique de cuivre dans divers organes, essentiellement au niveau du foie et du cerveau. La prévalence (nombres de cas à un moment précis) est estimée entre 1 sur 30 000 personnes à 1 sur 100000 selon les pays. Cette maladie atteint autant les filles que les garçons.

Les premières manifestations cliniques n’apparaissent qu’à partir de l’âge de 3 ans, le plus souvent à l’adolescence (10-20 ans). Il faut en effet plusieurs années depuis la naissance avant que l’accumulation de cuivre ne devienne toxique pour l’organisme. L’atteinte du foie peut se manifester par l’apparition d’une jaunisse (ictère), d’une augmentation du volume du foie (hépatomégalie), voire même, dans les cas plus avancés, par de l’accumulation de liquide dans l’abdomen, nommé «ascite». L’atteinte du cerveau se manifeste souvent plus tardivement à partir de l’adolescence. Elle peut  mener à divers symptômes variables en fonction de la zone endommagée. Les symptômes peuvent débuter par des difficultés scolaires, des tremblements, des troubles de la déglutition, des troubles de l’écriture ou du langage. Certains malades peuvent également présenter des troubles psychiatriques. Le diagnostic est difficile à poser. Il nécessite divers examens complémentaires : analyses de sang, analyses d’urine, biopsie du foie. Une recherche de mutation génétique est effectuée chez le patient pour confirmer le diagnostic, et chez  les autres membres de la famille  pour identifier les porteurs de la maladie.

Il existe un traitement médicamenteux qui doit être pris à vie. Ce traitement a pour but de diminuer le taux de cuivre dans l’organisme. Il est également recommandé, en plus du traitement médicamenteux, de suivre un régime pauvre en cuivre.  Le pronostic de la maladie de Wilson dépend de la précocité du diagnostic et de la rapidité de l’instauration d’un traitement. Si le diagnostic est tardif (par exemple à l’adolescence), l’atteinte hépatique est tellement avancée que la transplantation de foie est souvent le seul traitement.

Dr. Aude Tonson-LaTour
2011