Definition

The term “choledochal cyst” is used to describe any congenital dilatation of the common bile duct (that carries bile from the liver to the intestine) or of the intrahepatic bile ducts. In many cases, a choledochal cyst develops when the common bile duct joins the pancreatic duct higher up than usual, i.e. before it flows into the intestine. This early junction creates a common canal that causes reflux of pancreatic juice into the bile duct, which results in irritation of the common bile duct and favours the development of a choledochal cyst. Long-term consequences may include bile duct cirrhosis and/or the development of bile duct cancer.
In Europe, the incidence is one case per 100,000 live births, and in Asia this figure is considerably higher.

 

Symptoms

Symptoms of choledochal cysts include attacks of abdominal pain, pancreatitis, jaundice and a mass on the right side. After childhood, the cysts may degenerate into carcinoma.


Diagnosis

Prenatal diagnosis is possible if there is considerable choledochal dilatation that is visible in prenatal ultrasound scans. The main risk is of confusing it with a cystic form of biliary atresia (cf. chapter on biliary atresia), which requires urgent treatment.

Postnatal diagnosis is also made by ultrasound when symptoms occur. Magnetic resonance cholangio-pancreatography (MRCP) is used for precise diagnosis of the morphology of the choledochal cyst

 

Treatment

Treatment is always surgical and needs to be performed early on to help avoid the development of hepatic fibrosis/cirrhosis or complications of the cyst such as pancreatitis or cholangitis (bile duct infection). Surgery involves the complete excision of the dilated common bile duct, which is at risk of developing cancer, and of the gallbladder; this is followed by bile duct reconstruction where a loop of the intestine is mounted to the liver.

 

Prognosis

Postsurgical results are good with clinical healing that is normally without consequences, and biological and ultrasound normalisation. However, long-term monitoring including an annual ultrasound scan is necessary.

 

 

Prof. Barbara Wildhaber
2014

Kyste du cholédoque

 

Définition

Le « kyste du cholédoque » est le terme consacré à la situation de n’importe quelle dilatation congénitale de la voie biliaire principale (qui amène la bile du foie vers l’intestin) ou des voies biliaires intra-hépatiques. Souvent la raison pour le développement d’un kyste du cholédoque est un abouchement trop précoce de la voie biliaire principale dans le canal pancréatique, avant qu’il ne se jette dans l’intestin. Cette abouchement trop précoce crée un canal commun, qui amène au reflux du sucs pancréatique dans la voie biliaire, ce qui entraine une irritation de la voie biliaire principale et favorise le développement d’une kyste du cholédoque.  Les conséquences à long terme peuvent être la cirrhose biliaire et/ou la cancérisation de la voie biliaire.
L’incidence en Europe est de 1 cas pour 100’000 naissances, en Asie elle est fortement augmentée.

 

Symptômes

Le kyste du cholédoque se dévoile par des crises douloureuses abdominales, ou par une pancréatite, ou une jaunisse, ou une masse du flanc droit. Après l’enfance, le kyste peut dégénérez vers un carcinome.

 

Diagnostic

Le diagnostic avant la naissance est possible si la dilatation du cholédoque est importante, ce qui sera visible aux échographies prénatales. Le risque principal est de la confondre avec une atrésie des voies biliaires (cf. chapitre atrésie des voies biliaires) de forme kystique qui nécessite un traitement urgent.

Après la naissance, le diagnostic est aussi fait par échographie à l’occasion de symptômes. Le diagnostic précis de la morphologie du kyste du cholédoque repose sur la cholangio-pancréatographie par résonnance magnétique (cholangio-IRM).

 

Traitement

Le traitement est toujours chirurgical. Il doit être précoce afin de limiter le développement d’une fibrose/cirrhose hépatique ou des complications du kyste, comme une pancréatite ou une cholangite (infection des voies biliaires). La chirurgie comporte l’exérèse de toute la voie biliaire principale dilatée susceptible de cancériser et ainsi que de la vésicule biliaire, suivie d’une reconstruction de la voie biliaire par une anse intestinale montée vers le foie.

 

Pronostic

Les résultats post-opératoirespostopératoires sont bons avec guérison clinique, normalement sans séquelles, normalisation biologique et échographique. Toutefois, une surveillance prolongée à l’aide d’une échographie annuelle est nécessaire.

Prof. Barbara Wildhaber
2014