Hepatoblastoma and liver tumours in children

 

Liver tumours are rare in children. They represent 1% of all solid paediatric tumours and are malignant in 2/3 of all cases. Two types of tumours account for 90% of malignant tumours (excluding metastases). First of all, the hepatoblastoma which appears every year in 1 in a million children and usually occurs before the age of three. Second, the hepatocellular carcinoma which is much rarer and more likely occurs in adolescents. The carcinoma may be associated with a pre-existing liver disease and, in this case, it manifests earlier in childhood. Finally, there is a third type of tumour, which, however, is much rarer than hepatoblastoma and hepatocellular carcinoma, this is the sarcoma. It represents 10% of all liver tumours and generally affects older children. Benign liver tumours are mainly of vascular origin (haemangioma, haemangioendothelioma), followed in order of frequency by mesenchymal hamartoma, focal nodular hyperplasia and adenoma.

The main symptoms of all these liver tumours are a generally palpable liver and abdominal pain. High-quality imaging including computer tomography (CT-Scan or scanner) or magnetic resonance imaging (MRI) is required for the diagnosis and for the preoperative assessment of the tumour size. In many cases, a biopsy of the tumour must be performed under general anaesthesia.

The treatment of malignant tumours aims at achieving complete surgical removal. This operation is nearly always combined with chemotherapy before and after the operation. When the tumour cannot be removed by surgery, liver transplant may be an option to cure the child. The progresses achieved in medical and surgical healthcare have contributed considerably to the improvement of the prognosis of children affected by one of these tumours.

Benign tumours, however, are monitored. When these tumours turn out to be locally invasive, they are treated either by ablation surgery or by procedures of interventional radiology.

Dr. Eliane Rahal

2011

Hépatoblastome et tumeurs du foie de l’enfant

 

Les tumeurs du foie sont rares chez l’enfant. Elles représentent 1% de toutes les tumeurs solides pédiatriques et sont malignes dans 2/3 des cas. Les tumeurs malignes (métastases exclues) sont dominées à 90% d’entre elles par 2 types de tumeurs. Premièrement, l’hépatoblastome, dont l’incidence annuelle est de 1 par million d’enfant, et qui survient habituellement avant l’âge de 3 ans. Deuxièmement, le carcinome hépatocellulaire qui est beaucoup plus rare, et qui survient plutôt chez l’adolescent. Le carcinome peut s’associer à une maladie du foie préexistante, et dans ce cas, il  se manifeste plus tôt dans l’enfance. Enfin, un troisième type de tumeur existe, mais qui est beaucoup plus rare que l’hépatoblastome et le carcinome hépatocellulaire, il s’agit du sarcome. Il  représente les 10% des tumeurs hépatiques et atteint généralement l’enfant déjà grand. Les tumeurs bénignes du foie sont pour la plupart d’origine vasculaire (hémangiome, hémangioendothéliome), suivies par ordre de fréquence par l’hamartome mésenchymateux, l’hyperplasie nodulaire focale et l’adénome.

Les principaux symptômes de toutes ces tumeurs du foie sont une masse hépatique généralement  palpable et une douleur abdominale. Une imagerie de qualité comportant une tomodensitométrie (CT-Scan ou scanner) ou une imagerie par résonnance magnétique nucléaire (IRM), est nécessaire au diagnostic et à l’évaluation de l’extension tumorale préopératoire. Souvent une biopsie de la tumeur doit être réalisée sous anesthésie générale.

L’objectif du traitement des tumeurs malignes est d’aboutir à l’ablation chirurgicale complète. Cette chirurgie s’accompagne presque toujours d’une chimiothérapie avant et après l’opération. Lorsque la tumeur ne peut pas être enlevée chirurgicalement, la transplantation hépatique peut être un moyen de guérir l’enfant. Les progrès dans la prise en charge médico-chirurgicale ont contribué de façon considérable à l’amélioration du pronostic des enfants atteints d’une de ces tumeurs.

A l’inverse, les tumeurs bénignes font l’objet de surveillance. Elles  relèvent soit de la chirurgie de l’ablation soit des techniques de radiologie interventionnelle lorsque ces tumeurs s’avèrent localement envahissantes.

Dr Eliane Rahal

2011