Annual evaluation

 

Irrespective of the place where you live, you are asked to return to the Swiss Centre for Liver Diseases in Children of the Children’s Hospital of Geneva once per year for the follow-up, since all patients are submitted to an annual evaluation approximately on the anniversary of their transplantation. This is a routine evaluation performed by the transplant team, but individualised for every patient. This means that your child undergoes more or less analyses depending on his medical history and his current state of health. Irrespective of the annual evaluation, we recommend every patient having himself examined regularly by a paediatrician, an ophthalmologist, a dentist and a dermatologist (for the screening for skin cancer).

The annual evaluation comprises several analyses and examinations that are explained in detail below:

 

WEIGHT AND HEIGHT

Weight and height are the first measurements taken when a transplanted child is back for an evaluation. This data is very important for evaluating the child’s growth and catch-up in weight and height.

 

HAEMATOLOGICAL EVALUATION

The haematological evaluation comprises the complete blood count (CBC), the level of cyclosporine (Neoral), of tacrolimus (Prograf), of prednisone and of mycophenolate (Cellcept), as well as blood chemistry.

 

The complete blood count, blood gas analyses, haemostasis, CRP

The complete blood count includes the counts of C-reactive protein (CRP), reticulocytes, blood gas analysis and of haemostasis. It is used to detect any possible effects of the immunosuppressive agents on the three lines of blood cells: the white blood cells, the red blood cells and the platelets. It also enables us to reveal a possible anaemia, as well as an infectious or viral state. Other drugs may also influence the blood count.

The C-reactive protein (CRP) is a blood protein produced by the liver in case of infection. Thus, an increased level of CRP indicates the presence of an infection.

The reticulocytes are young red blood cells. Their increase indicates that the bone marrow makes up for anaemia.

The blood gas analysis is used to assess the acid-base status and thus the renal function.

The haemostasis counts provide a general overview of the liver function : they reflect the hepatocellular function best. In fact, the coagulation factors produced by the liver constitute a good reflection of its function, in particular the factor V and the factors VII and X (that depend on it since they are poorly synthesised in case of vitamin K deficiency).

 

The level of immunosuppressive agents

At the level prescribed to liver-transplanted children, these drugs never cause complete immunosuppression, we therefore had better speak of immunodepression. Nevertheless, these drugs have multiple side effects and, of course, reduce the resistance to infection, it is therefore extremely important to find the exact dose that enables us to walk on the fine line between the risk of rejection and the risk of infection.

 

Blood chemistry

The blood chemistry corresponds to the measurement of certain compounds in the blood and comprises the analysis of the following values:

Glucose : We check the glucose level in order to rule out a possible hyperglycaemia, since the anti-rejection treatments, in particular Prograf, Cellcept and Solumedrol, may cause increased glucose levels in the blood.

Sodium (Na), phosphates, urea and creatinine : These values reflect the kidney function and the fluid balance.

Aspartate aminotransferase (ASAT) and alanine aminotransferase (ALAT) : ASAT and ALAT are liver enzymes, their values are used to assess whether the liver cells are suffering.

Gamma glutamyltransferase (gamma-GT) : Gamma-GT is another liver enzyme. It is the finest marker for the biliary ducts and indicates whether the cells of the bile ducts are suffering. Elevated gamma-GT in the blood is a sign of cholestasis.

Bilirubin and conjugated bilirubin : Bilirubin is a yellow pigment whose abnormal accumulation in the blood and in the tissues (cholestasis) indicates icterus (or “jaundice”) and that may have various causes. Increased conjugated bilirubin in the blood is a sign of cholestasis as well. Normally, conjugated bilirubin is excreted by the bile into the intestine. In case of retention of conjugated bilirubin, whether intrahepatic or extrahepatic, it reaches the blood rather than the intestine.

Alkaline phosphatase : Alkaline phosphatase is a biliary marker in adults and a bone marker in children.

Calcium : We check the decrease in the calcium level in the blood which may be due to liver failure or immunosuppressive treatment. A calcium replacement therapy is administered when the calcium level is too low.

Calcitriol, also called 1,25-dihydroxycholecalciferol or 1,25-dihydroxyvitamin D : Calcitriol is a hormone produced from vitamin D by the liver and the kidney. It increases the calcium level in the blood and the uptake of calcium into the bones. When the analyses reveal disorders of the level of this hormone in the blood, a vitamin D replacement treatment is recommended.

Parathyroid hormone (PTH): PTH is a hormone produced by the parathyroid glands. Together with calcitriol, it plays a key role in the regulation of the phosphate and calcium metabolism and thus completes the evaluation of bone metabolism. An increase in PTH in the blood thus reveals problems associated with the phosphate and calcium metabolism.

Magnesium : The blood level of magnesium is affected by the immunosuppressive treatment as well. When its level in the blood decreases, daily substitution of magnesium is required.

Iron, retinol (vitamin A) and tocopherol (vitamin E) : Their blood levels are often reduced in children with liver disorders. In fact, like vitamin K, vitamin A and vitamin E need the presence of biliary acids in the intestine in order to be absorbed properly.

Albumin : Albumin is a protein produced by the liver. Its level in the blood reflects the liver’s capacity for synthesis and the child’s nutritional state.

Lipid profile : This profile may be altered by the taking of immunosuppressive agents and may also be affected by certain liver disorders and by malnutrition.

 

Immunological analyses

Immunoglobulins A, G and M (IgA, IgG and IgM) : Immunoglobulins are proteins that play a critical role in the interactions between the cells involved in the immune system. IgM are produced by the white blood cells, when they see a virus for the first time, and IgG are produced by the white blood cells, when they are repeatedly faced with the same virus. IgA are also produced by the white blood cells in the mucous membranes where they constitute a first line of immune defence against the toxins and infectious agents found for example in the intestine.

Anti-LKM antibody : antibodies present in case of so-called auto-immune hepatites.

Protein electrophoresis : distribution of proteins in the blood.

Anti-smooth muscle antibody : antibodies present in case of so-called auto-immune hepatites.

Anti-nuclear factor (ANF) : antibodies present in case of a large number of auto-immune diseases.

 

Virus serologies

Virus serology consists in evaluating the immunity against certain viruses or certain bacteria. It can also be used to ensure the effectiveness of a vaccination or to diagnose an auto-immune disease. In general, all transplanted patients have been vaccinated before the liver transplant, but since immunosuppression inhibits the immunological memory, it is necessary to check their state of immunity.

Cytomegalovirus (CMV) : This virus has an affinity for the liver and causes hepatitis. The virus per se is not necessarily pathogenic, since there is a very large number of carriers in the population. However, it may be more aggressive in a patient under immunosuppressive agents and may trigger rejections. We check the CMV level in the blood in order to treat it when the blood levels are elevated.

Adenovirus : Adenoviruses are viruses that are widespread in nature. They trigger generally inapparent or benign infections (pharyngitis, bronchitis, conjunctivitis, influenza, gastroenteritis, etc.), but they may result in serious diseases in an immunodepressed patient. Adenoviruses may cause liver disorders and thus explain a small alteration of the liver tests.

Epstein Barr virus (EBV: This virus can cause the proliferation of the white blood cells and might result in lymphoma. The levels of EBV in the blood are checked regularly, since, when they are elevated, we will reduce immunosuppression so that the organism can fight the virus.

Hepatitis A and B : The children are examined to verify whether they have immunity against hepatitis B shown by an antibody to HBsAg.

 

URINALYSES

The use of immunosuppressive agents potentially toxic for the kidneys requires frequent follow-ups and the tightest possible adjustment of drug treatment.

Creatinine clearance : The creatinine clearance measures the glomerular filtration rate, that is the filtration of blood by the glomerulus of the kidney. The creatinine level in the urine therefore is an indication of the quantity of blood filtered. When we want to have a reflection of glomerular filtration, we measure the creatinine clearance using a 24-hour urine collection. For multifactorial reasons, it is very low during the first month after the transplant and then normalises depending on the blood level of tacrolimus or cyclosporine. However, it is absolutely required to regularly check its level in the urine, since the toxic effects on the kidneys may make themselves felt in the long term.

Inulin clearance : Like creatinine, inulin is a molecule that can be used as a measure of the glomerular filtration rate using a 24-hour urine collection.

For a 24-hour urine collection, 24 hours are the desired duration, but 12 hours are already enough. A spot urine analysis is an immediate examination of the urine used to monitor the phosphate elimination rate and the Na reabsorption rate. Urinary sediment is the analysis of the deposit obtained by centrifugation of the urine sample. This examination provides us with information on the presence of proteins or cells in the urine.

 

LIVER BIOPSY

Liver biopsy allows us to have an image of the liver under microscope.

Indication: A liver biopsy must often be performed after the transplant. Indications vary, the most common being the disturbance of liver function tests and the need to confirm or invalidate a rejection. Other times, the biopsy is performed even without disturbance of the laboratory values, if deemed necessary by the hepatologist, and given that the liver function tests are not always indicators of the real situation of the liver.  Finally, protocol biopsies are performed 5 and 10 years after transplant, as well as before the transition to the adult team. These biopsies allow us to visualise the evolution of liver at a certain time after the transplant.

Technique: The procedure is made by a hepatologist under general anaesthesia in the operating room. After skin disinfection an incision of a few millimetres is made; a special needle for liver biopsies is inserted through this opening, which allows us to collect a sample of approximately 2 cm long and 1.5 mm in diameter. This tissue is then sent to the laboratory to be analysed.

Preparation: The liver biopsy is carried out after ultrasound. Ultrasound is performed by radiologists on the eve of or a few hours before the procedure and, like all ultrasounds of the liver, requires fasting of minimum 4 hours. It should be noted that a blood sample is required prior to the liver biopsy to check clotting. Sometimes, depending on the patient’s pathology, antibiotic treatment is necessary during the procedure and 24-48 hours afterwards.

Risks and consequences: The main risk of the liver biopsy is bleeding. This risk is not very common but it exists and is higher during the 24 hours after the procedure. For this reason hospital monitoring is essential for 24 hours. During this time the patient can eat as soon as anaesthesia allows it and he/she can move freely. A blood sample 4 hours after the procedure allows monitoring hemoglobin and platelets.

 

OTHER EXAMINATIONS INCLUDED IN THE EVALUATION

Electrocardiogram (ECG) : to evaluate the cardiac function of a child with hypertension.

24-hour blood pressure monitoring : to detect a possible arterial hypertension that would be secondary to the immunosuppressive treatment or that could reflect damage to the kidneys. When the physicians consider it to be indicated you will go home with a 24-hour blood pressure monitoring device to evaluate whether your child has hypertension. It is very important to perform this examination in his normal environment, outside the hospital which represents a stress factor and which may thus lead to incorrect diagnoses.

Chest X-ray : when your child had pulmonary disorders.

Determination of bone age : X-ray of the hand to determine whether skeletal maturity is proportional to the child’s chronological age.

Bone mineral density scan : children with liver disorders often have a delay in bone mineralization. From the age of 5 years on, we can perform a bone mineral density scan in order to evaluate whether a treatment is required.

Abdominal ultrasonography (Doppler ultrasound) : this examination is used to evaluate the graft, its vessels and the biliary ducts. It is also used to monitor ascites.

Psychological evaluation : the paedopsychiatric team works closely with the gastroenterological and surgical team to follow up children with hepatic disorders and their families. It normally intervenes at the pre-transplant evaluation, during the transplant period if necessary and then at the regular evaluations.

Evaluation of psychomotor development : the children are regularly evaluated by the team of the Development Department (Unité de Développement, UD). For linguistic reasons, German-speaking children are generally evaluated in their canton.

Evaluation annuelle

 

Indépendamment de l’endroit ou vous vivez, il vous est demandé de retourner une fois par an au Centre Suisse des Maladies du Foie de l’Enfant de l’Hôpital des Enfants de Genève pour le suivi, car tous les patients sont soumis à une évaluation annuelle autour de la date anniversaire de leur greffe. Il s’agit d’une évaluation de routine effectuée par l’équipe de greffe, mais individualisée pour chaque patient. Cela signifie que votre enfant subit un nombre d’analyses plus ou moins élevé en fonction de ses antécédents médicaux et de son état de santé du moment. Indépendamment de l’évaluation annuelle, nous conseillons à chaque patient de se faire contrôler régulièrement par un pédiatre, un ophtalmologue, un dentiste et un dermatologue (pour le dépistage du cancer de la peau).

L’évaluation annuelle comprend plusieurs analyses et examens qui sont détaillés ci-dessous :

 

 

POIDS ET TAILLE

Le poids et la taille sont les premières mesures que l’on prend lorsqu’un enfant greffé est de retour pour un bilan. Ces données sont très importantes pour évaluer la croissance et le rattrapage staturo-pondéral de l’enfant.

 

 

BILAN SANGUIN

Le bilan sanguin comprend la formule sanguine complète (FSC), le taux de ciclosporine (Neoral), de tacrolimus (Prograf), de prednisone et de mycophénolate (Cellcept), ainsi que la chimie sanguine.

La formule sanguine complète, Gazométrie, Hemostase, CRP

La formule sanguine complète inclut les valeurs de la C-réactive Protéine (CRP), des réticulocytes, de la gazométrie et celles en hémostase. Elle est utile pour repérer les éventuelles répercussions des immunosuppresseurs sur les trois lignées du sang : les globules blancs, les globules rouges et les plaquettes. Elle permet également de mettre à jour une éventuelle anémie, ainsi qu’un état infectieux ou viral. D’autres médicaments peuvent aussi   peuvent influer sur la formule sanguine.

  • La C-réactive Protéine (CRP)  est une protéine du sang fabriqué par le foie en cas d’infection. Un taux élevé de CRP suggère donc la présence d’une infection.
  • Les réticulocytes sont la forme jeune des globules rouges. Leur augmentation indique quel la moelle osseuse compense en cas d’anémie.
  • La gazométrie  permet d’évaluer l’équilibre acide-base et donc la fonction rénale.
  • Les valeurs en hémostase permettent un survol global de la fonction hépatique: elles constituent le meilleur reflet de la fonction hépatocellulaire. En effet, les facteurs de coagulation produits par le foie sont un bon reflet de la fonction de celui-ci, en particulier le facteur V, et les facteurs VII et X (qui eux en dépendent, étant mal synthétisés lorsqu’il y a déficit en vitamine K).

Le taux d’immunosuppresseurs

Aux taux prescrits chez les enfants greffés du foie, ces médicaments ne vont jamais jusqu’à provoquer l’immunosuppression totale, il serait donc plus juste de parler d’immunodépression. Il n’en reste pas moins que ces médicaments ayant de multiples effets secondaires et diminuant bien entendu la résistance à l’infection, il est donc extrêmement important de trouver le dosage précis qui permette de se situer sur la fine ligne de crête entre risque de rejet et risque d’infection.

Chimie sanguine

La chimie sanguine correspond à la mesure de certains composés dans le sang et comprend l’analyse des valeurs suivantes :

  • Glucose: nous surveillons le taux de glucose pour écarter l’éventualité d’une hyperglycémie, car les traitements antirejet, en particulier le Prograf, le Cellcept et le Solumédrol, peuvent provoquer des taux plus élevés de glucose dans le sang.
  • Sodium (Na), phosphates, urée et créatinine : ces valeurs reflètent la fonction rénale et l’équilibre hydrique.
  • Aspartate amino transférase (ASAT) et Alanine amino transférase (ALAT): les ASAT et les ALAT sont des enzymes hépatiques, leurs valeurs permettent d’évaluer si les cellules du foie sont en souffrance.
  • Gamma glutamyl transférase (Gamma-GT): la Gamma-GT est aussi une enzyme hépatique. Elle est le plus fin marqueur des voies biliaires et indique si les cellules des canaux biliaires souffrent. Une hausse de la Gamma-GT dans le sang témoigne d’une cholestase.
  • Bilirubine et bilirubine conjuguée: la bilirubine est un pigment jaune, dont l’accumulation anormale dans le sang et les tissus (cholestase) signale un ictère (ou « jaunisse »), et dont les causes peuvent être très diverses. L’augmentation de la bilirubine conjuguée dans le sang est également l’indice d’une cholestase. Normalement, la bilirubine conjuguée est excrétée par la bile dans l’intestin. En cas de rétention de bilirubine conjuguée, soit intra-hépatique, soit extra-hépatique, celle-ci passe dans le sang plutôt que dans l’intestin.
  • Phosphatase alcaline: la phosphatase alcaline est un marqueur biliaire chez l’adulte, et marqueur osseux chez l’enfant.
  • Calcium: nous surveillons la diminution du taux de calcium dans le sang, qui  peut être due à  une insuffisance hépatique ou au traitement immunosuppresseur. Un traitement substitutif en Calcium est donné si le taux de calcium est trop bas.
  • Calcitriol, également appelé 1,25-dihydroxycholécalciférol ou 1,25-dihydroxyvitamine D : le calcitriol est une hormone synthétisée à partir de la vitamine D par le foie et par le rein. Elle augmente le taux du calcium dans le sang et le renouvellement du calcium osseux. Lorsque les analyses révèlent des perturbations du taux de cette hormone dans le sang, il est alors préconisé un traitement substitutif en vitamine D.
  • Hormone parathyroïdienne (PTH): la PTH est une hormone synthétisée par les glandes parathyroïdes. Avec le calcitriol, elle joue un rôle clé dans la régulation du métabolisme phosphocalcique et permet ainsi de compléter le bilan osseux. L’augmentation de la PTH dans le sang révèle donc des problèmes liés au métabolisme phosphocalcique.
  • Magnésium: le taux de magnésium sanguin est lui aussi affecté par le traitement immunosuppresseur. Lorsque son taux diminue dans le sang, une substitution quotidienne en magnésium est alors nécessaire.
  • Fer, Rétinol (vitamine A) et Tocophérol (vitamine E): leur taux sanguins sont souvent diminués chez les enfants ayant une maladie hépatique. En effet, la vitamine A et la vitamine E, comme la vitamine K, ont besoin de la présence d’acides biliaires dans l’intestin pour être correctement absorbés.
  • Albumine: l’albumine est une protéine synthétisée par le foie. Son taux dans le sang reflète la capacité de synthèse du foie et l’état nutritionnel de l’enfant.
  • Bilan lipidique: ce bilan peut être altéré par la prise d’immunosuppresseurs, et peut aussi être perturbé par certaines maladies hépatiques et par de la malnutrition.

Analyses immunologiques

Immunoglobulines A, G et M (IgA, IgG et IgM) : les immunoglobulines sont des protéines qui ont un rôle crucial dans les interactions entre les cellules impliquées dans le système immunitaire. Les IgM sont produites par les globules blancs, lorsqu’ils voient un virus pour la première fois, et les IgG sont produites par les globules blancs, lorsqu’ils se trouvent de manière répétée devant le même virus. Les IgA sont aussi produites par les globules blancs au niveau des muqueuses, où elles constituent une première ligne de défense immunitaire contre les toxines et les agents infectieux présents par exemple dans l’intestin.

  • Anticorps anti-LKM : anticorps présents dans les hépatites dites auto-immunes.
  • Electrophorèse des protéines : distribution des protéines dans le sang.
  • Anticorps anti-Muscle-lisse : anticorps présents dans les hépatites dites auto-immunes.
  • Facteur anti-nucléaire (FAN): anticorps présents dans bon nombre de maladies auto-immunes.

Sérologies virales

La sérologie virale consiste à évaluer l’immunité contre certains virus ou certaines bactéries. Elle peut aussi être utilisée pour s’assurer de l’efficacité d’une vaccination ou pour diagnostiquer une maladie auto-immune. Généralement, tous les patients greffés ont été vaccinés avant la transplantation hépatique, mais l’immunosuppression inhibant la mémoire immunologique, il est nécessaire de faire un contrôle de leur état d’immunité.

  • Cytomégalovirus (CMV): ce virus a une affinité pour le foie et provoque des hépatites. En soi, il n’est pas forcément pathogène, car il existe de très nombreux porteurs sains dans la population. Il peut toutefois être plus agressif chez un patient sous médicaments immunosuppresseurs et peut déclencher des rejets. Nous contrôlons le taux de CMV dans le sang pour le traiter si les taux sanguins sont trop élevés.
  • Adénovirus : les  adénovirus sont des virus très répandus dans la nature. Ils provoquent des infections généralement inapparentes ou bénignes (pharyngite, bronchite, conjonctivite, grippe, gastro-entérite, etc.), mais peuvent entraîner des maladies sévères chez un patient immunodéprimé. Les adénovirus peuvent causer des atteintes hépatiques, donc expliquer une petite altération des tests hépatiques.
  • Virus Epstein Barr (EBV) : ce virus peut provoquer la prolifération des globules blancs, et pourrait  entraîner un lymphome. Les taux d’EBV dans le sang sont suivis régulièrement, car s’ils sont à la hausse, on baisse l’immunosuppression, afin que l’organisme puisse lutter contre le virus.
  • Hépatite A et B : les enfants sont suivis pour vérifier qu’ils soient porteurs d’une immunité contre l’hépatite B, dont la signature est un anticorps anti-HBs.

 

 

BILAN URINAIRE

L’utilisation d’immunosuppresseurs potentiellement toxiques pour les reins nécessite des contrôles fréquents et une adaptation médicamenteuse la plus parcimonieuse possible.

Clearance à la créatinine : la clearance à la créatinine mesure la capacité de filtration glomérulaire, c’est-à-dire la filtration du sang par le glomérule du rein. Le taux de créatinine dans l’urine témoigne donc de la quantité de sang qui a été filtrée. Si l’on veut un reflet de la filtration glomérulaire, on mesure la clearance à la créatinine établie sur une récolte de 24 heures. Pour des raisons multifactorielles, elle est très abaissée lors du premier mois post-greffe et elle se normalise par la suite en fonction du taux sanguin de tacrolimus ou de ciclosporine. Il est toutefois impératif de suivre régulièrement son taux dans les urines, car les effets toxiques sur les reins peuvent se faire ressentir à long terme.

Clearance à l’inuline : comme la créatinine, l’insuline est une molécule qui témoigne de la capacité de filtration glomérulaire en effectuant une récolte urinaire sur 24h.

Pour une récolte de 24h, 24 heures est la durée souhaitée, mais 12 heures sont déjà suffisantes.  Un spot urinaire est un examen instantané des urines  qui va donner le taux d’excrétion des phosphates et celui de réabsorption du Na. Le sédiment vrai est l’analyse du dépôt obtenu par centrifugation de l’échantillon d’urine. Cet examen nous renseigne sur la présence de protéines ou de cellules dans l’urine dans l’urine.

 

 

PONCTION BIOPSIE DU FOIE

La biopsie hépatique nous permet d’avoir une image du foie sous microscope.

Indication : après la greffe on doit souvent procéder à une ponction-biopsie du foie (PBF). Les indications varient, la plus fréquente étant la perturbation des tests hépatiques et la nécessité de confirmer ou infirmer un rejet. D’autres fois, la biopsie est effectuée même sans perturbation des valeurs de laboratoire, si l’hépatologue le juge nécessaire, et étant donné que les tests hépatiques ne sont pas toujours indicateurs de la situation réelle du foie.  Finalement, des biopsies « protocolaires » sont effectuées à 5 et 10 ans après la greffe ainsi qu’avant la transition vers l’équipe des adultes. Ces biopsies nous permettent de visualiser l’évolution du foie à distance de la greffe.

Technique :il s’agit d’un geste effectué par les hépatologues sous anesthésie générale au bloc opératoire. Après désinfection de la peau on incise la peau sur quelques millimètres et à travers cet orifice on introduit une aiguille spéciale pour des biopsies du foie qui nous permet de prélever une « carotte » d’environ 2cm de longueur et 1.5mm de diamètre. Ce tissu est par la suite envoyé au laboratoire pour être analysé.

Préparation :la ponction-biopsie du foie est effectuée après repérage échographique. L’échographie de repérage est effectuée par les radiologues la veille du geste ou quelques heures avant et, comme toutes les échographies du foie, nécessite une mise à jeun de minimum 4hr.A noter qu’avant la ponction-biopsie du foie une prise de sang est nécessaire pour vérifier la coagulation. Parfois, en fonction de la pathologie du patient, un traitement par antibiotique est nécessaire pendant le geste et pendant 24-48hr après le geste.

Risques et suites :le risque principal de la ponction-biopsie du foie est le saignement. Ce risque n’est pas très fréquent mais existe et est plus élevé pendant les 24hr après le geste.Pour cette raison une surveillance à l’hôpital est indispensable pendant 24hr. Durant ce temps le patient peut s’alimenter dès que l’anesthésie le permet et se mobiliser librement. Une prise de sang 4h après le geste permet de surveiller le taux d’hémoglobine et les plaquettes.

 

AUTRES EXAMENS FAISANT PARTIE DU BILAN

Electrocardiogramme (ECG):   pour évaluer la fonction cardiaque chez l’enfant ayant présenté une hypertension.

Mesure de la tension artérielle (TA) sur 24 h: pour rechercher une possible hypertension artérielle, qui serait secondaire au traitement immunosuppresseur, ou qui pourrait refléter une atteinte rénale.  Si les médecins estiment que c’est indiqué, vous rentrerez à domicile avec un appareil de TA sur 24h pour évaluer si votre enfant présente une hypertension. Il est indispensable de faire cet examen dans son milieu normal, en dehors de l’hôpital, qui représente un facteur de stress, et qui peut donc amener à des diagnostics erronés.

Radiographie du thorax : si votre enfant a présenté des problèmes pulmonaires.

Détermination de l’âge osseux: radiographie de la main pour déterminer si la maturation osseuse est proportionnelle à l’âge chronologique.

Minéralométrie: les enfants malades du foie ont souvent un retard de minéralisation osseuse. Des l’âge de 5 ans, nous pouvons effectuer une minéralométrie, afin d’évaluer la nécessité d’un traitement.

Echographie abdominale (Echo Doppler): cet examen permet d’évaluer le greffon, ses vaisseaux, et les voies biliaires. Il permet également de surveiller l’ascite.

Bilan psychologique : l’équipe de pédopsychiatrie travaille conjointement avec l’équipe de gastroentérologie et de chirurgie pour suivre les enfants atteints de pathologies hépatiques et leurs familles. Elle intervient notamment lors du bilan pré-greffe, en période de greffe si cela est nécessaire,  puis lors des bilans réguliers.

Bilan du développement psychomoteur : les enfants sont régulièrement évalués par l’équipe de l’Unité de Développement (UD). Pour des raisons linguistiques, les enfants germanophones sont évalués généralement dans leur canton.