Antiviral / Antifungal drugs

 

Anti-rejection drugs make the patient more susceptible to infections. These infections are generally caused by the proliferation of bacteria or viruses normally living in your child’s organism. The following drugs are used to prevent these infections:

 

VALCYTE® (VALGANCICLOVIR)

Valganciclovir is an antiviral drug that can be used to prevent or treat a virus called cytomegalovirus (CMV). It is possible that your child must take this drug for 3 months after the graft and that additional doses are prescribed for the treatment of a CMV infection. Valganciclovir causes cancer and birth defects in animals, but we do not know if it is the cause of cancer or birth defects in humans. You must thus avoid every direct contact with crushed or broken tablets when administering this drug. Moreover, sexually active men and women must take contraceptive precautions (such as the pill or preservatives) during and at least up to 90 days after the treatment.

The side effects include in particular:

  • neutropenia
  • photosensitivity.

You must thus avoid exposing your child directly to sunlight, by putting sunscreen on his skin or by dressing him to completely cover his skin. Your child’s blood status will be followed up closely as long as he takes this drug. It is also important to encourage him to drink more in order to avoid damage to the kidneys.

 

BACTRIM®, SMZ/TMP (SULFAMETHOXAZOLE/TRIMETHOPRIM)

Bactrim® is a sulfonamide antibiotic agent. It is used to prevent a type of pneumonia known under the name of pneumonia caused by Pneumocystis jiroveci (PCP). This drug is prescribed during the first year after the graft and its main side effects include:

  • photosensitivity
  • renal failure
  • leucopenia

You must thus avoid exposing your child directly to sunlight, by putting sunscreen on his skin or by dressing him to completely cover his skin. This drug may cause renal calculi and renal failure or reduced white blood count. When this happens, the administration of this drug will be stopped immediately and a replacement drug will be prescribed. It is very important that your child drinks much while taking this drug. When your child is allergic to drugs containing sulfonamides, another drug may be used.

At the same time, your child will take a folic acid supplement in order to protect him from the effects of Bactrim on the white blood cells.

 

MYCOSTATIN® (NYSTATIN)

Nystatine is an antifungal drug. It is used to prevent or to treat thrush, a fungal infection of the mouth. Although its salty taste causes nausea in some children, its secondary effects are very rare. Your child might have to take this drug after the graft when he develops a thrush. Nystatine can be dabbed in the mouth of children under two years: on the cheeks, the gums and the tongue. Older children rinse their mouth with the drug and then swallow it. As it is important that a portion of these drugs is swallowed, younger children must be encouraged to suckle at a dabber (small brush similar to a cotton bud). The most effective measure is to leave it in the mouth for some minutes. This drug must be given after the other drugs have been administered and the patient must avoid eating or drinking for 15 minutes.

Médicaments antiviraux / antifongiques

 

Les médicaments anti-rejet rendent le patient plus vulnérable aux infections. Ces infections sont généralement provoquées par la prolifération de bactéries ou virus vivant normalement dans l’organisme de votre enfant. On utilise les médicaments suivants pour prévenir ces infections:

 

VALCYTE® (VALGANCICLOVIR)

Le valganciclovir est un médicament antiviral auquel on peut recourir pour prévenir ou traiter un virus appelé cytomegalovirus (CMV). Il est possible que votre enfant doive prendre ce médicament pendant 3 mois après la greffe et que des doses supplémentaires soient prescrites pour le traitement d’une infection à CMV. Le valganciclovir provoque des cancers et des anomalies congénitales chez les animaux, mais nous ignorons s’il est la cause de cancer ou d’anomalies congénitales chez les humains. Vous devez donc éviter tout contact direct avec des comprimés écrasés ou cassés en administrant ce médicament. De même, les hommes et les femmes qui sont sexuellement actifs doivent prendre des précautions contraceptives (telles que pilule ou préservatifs) pendant et au moins jusqu’à 90 jours après le traitement.

Les effets secondaires sont notamment :

  • neutropénie
  • photosensibilité.

Il faut donc éviter que votre enfant soit directement exposé au soleil, en lui appliquant un écran solaire ou en l’habillant de telle sorte que sa peau soit complètement couverte. La formule sanguine de votre enfant sera suivie de près tant qu’il prendra ce médicament. Il importe également de l’inciter à boire davantage pour éviter d’endommager  les reins.

 

BACTRIM®, SMZ/TMP (SULFAMETHOXAZOLE/TRIMETHOPRIME)

Le Bactrim® est un antibiotique à base de sulfamides. On l’utilise pour prévenir une forme de pneumonie connue sous le nom de pneumopathie à Pneumocystis jiroveci (PCP). Ce médicament est prescrit la première année après la greffe et les principaux effets secondaires sont :

  • photosensibilité
  • insuffisances rénales
  • leucopénie

Il faut donc éviter que votre enfant soit directement exposé au soleil, en lui appliquant un écran solaire ou en l’habillant de telle sorte que sa peau soit complètement couverte. Ce médicament peut être à l’origine de calculs rénaux et d’insuffisances rénales ou encore d’une baisse du taux des globules blancs. Si cela se produit, l’administration de ce médicament cessera immédiatement au profit d’un médicament de remplacement. Il est très important que votre enfant boive beaucoup lorsqu’il prend ce médicament. Si votre enfant est allergique aux médicaments contenant des sulfamides, on pourra avoir recours à un autre médicament.

En parallèle, votre enfant prendra un supplément d’acide folique afin de le protéger des effets du Bactrim® sur les globules blancs.

 

MYCOSTATIN® (NYSTATINE)

La nystatine est un médicament antifongique. On l’utilise pour prévenir ou traiter le muguet, une infection fongique de la bouche. Bien que son goût salé provoque un réflexe nauséeux chez certains enfants, ses effets secondaires sont très rares. Il se peut que votre enfant prenne ce médicament après la greffe s’il présente un muguet. La nystatine peut être badigeonnée dans la bouche chez les enfants de moins de deux ans : sur les joues, les gencives et la langue. Les enfants plus âgés se rincent la bouche avec le médicament, puis l’avalent. Comme il est important que certains de ces médicaments soient avalés, il faut inciter les plus petits enfants à sucer l’écouvillon (petite brosse ressemblant à un coton-tige). Le  moyen le plus efficace consiste à le laisser quelques minutes dans la bouche. Il faut donner ce médicament après que les autres aient été administrés et éviter de manger ou de boire pendant 15 minutes.