Antihypertensive drugs

 

The names and the side effects of the drugs used to treat hypertension, or increased blood pressure, are listed below. Hypertension may be a side effect of tacrolimus (Prograf®) and of prednisone. As your child generally does not show any symptom of hypertension, it is important to take his blood pressure twice daily before administering him any drug used for the treatment of hypertension. We will give you all information you need to be able to determine whether the blood pressure may be deemed increased. When your child’s blood pressure exceeds the range indicated by the transplant team, you must inform the transplant physician. Remember to record the blood pressure values in a notebook and to always bring this data with you to the hospital or your physician.

 

NORVASC® (AMLODIPINE), ADALAT® (NIFEDIPINE), RENITEN® (ENALAPRIL)

Amlodipine and nifedipine are calcium antagonists that are used in the treatment of hypertension. The side effects include in particular:

  • hypotension (low blood pressure)
  • vertigo
  • oedema (swelling).

Enalapril belongs to the family of angiotensin converting enzyme inhibitors, a molecule participating in the regulation of blood pressure. It also counts among the drugs used for the regulation of blood pressure, in particular if your child has proteinuria.

 

LASIX® (FUROSEMIDE)

Furosemide is a diuretic. It helps eliminate excessive fluid in the organism by stimulating micturition (act of urination). This may contribute to lower blood pressure. The side effects include in particular:

  • muscle cramps
  • headache
  • sensitivity to sunlight.

Your child must avoid direct exposure to sunlight, by putting sunscreen on his skin or by wearing clothes that completely cover his skin.

Médicaments antihypertenseurs

 

Les noms et les effets secondaires des médicaments utilisés pour traiter l’hypertension, ou pression sanguine élevée, sont énumérés ci-dessous. L’hypertension peut être un effet secondaire du tacrolimus (Prograf®) et de la Prednisone®. Comme votre enfant ne manifeste en général aucun symptôme d’hypertension, il est essentiel de vérifier sa tension deux fois par jour avant de lui administrer tout médicament permettant de traiter l’hypertension. Nous vous donnerons toutes les consignes vous permettant de déterminer si la tension peut être considérée comme élevée. Si la tension artérielle (ou pression sanguine) de votre enfant se situe hors de l’intervalle indiqué par l’équipe de greffe, vous devrez en informer le médecin de greffe. Pensez à répertorier les valeurs de tension artérielle dans un cahier et toujours apporter ces données avec vous à l’hôpital ou chez votre médecin.

 

NORVASC® (AMLODIPINE), ADALAT® (NIFEDIPINE), RENITEN® (ENALAPRIL)

L’amlodipine et la nifédipine sont des antagonistes du calcium qui s’utilisent pour traiter l’hypertension. Les effets secondaires sont notamment:

  • hypotension (pression sanguine basse)
  •  vertige
  •  œdème (gonflement).

L’enalapril appartient à la famille des inhibiteurs de l’enzyme de conversion de l’angiotensine, molécule active dans la régulation de la tension artérielle. C’est aussi un des médicaments utilisés pour la régulation de la tension artérielle, surtout si votre enfant présente une protéinurie.

 

LASIX® (FUROSEMIDE)

Le furosémide est un diurétique. Il aide à éliminer l’excès de liquide dans l’organisme en stimulant la miction (action d’uriner). Cela peut contribuer à faire baisser la tension. Les effets secondaires sont notamment :

  • crampes musculaires
  • maux de tête
  • sensibilité au soleil.

Votre enfant doit éviter d’être directement exposé au soleil en utilisant un écran solaire ou en portant des vêtements qui recouvrent complètement la peau.