Infection

   

Infections are one of the most common problems that occur after transplantation and their prevention often is easier than their treatment. Transplanted patients have an increased risk of infection due to the administration of anti-rejection drugs. The latter reduce the body’s capacity to fight against foreign bodies, graft or bacteria, in a non-specific manner.

Infections can be caused by bacteria or by viruses. Viral infections, be it CMV (cytomegalovirus) or herpes, usually affect the mouth or the transplanted liver. In general, they are treated using drugs administered orally or by the intravenous route for 10 to 14 days. Pneumocystis carinii pneumonia (PCP) is a pulmonary infection due to a parasite. PCP is a type of pneumonia that occurs most commonly in patients with altered immune system. It generally occurs during the first year after the graft when the levels of anti-rejection drugs are highest. All transplanted patients take a drug intended to reduce the risks of developing Pneumocystis pneumonia. The patients take Bactrim® 3x/week (in general, on Mondays, Wednesdays and Fridays) or an aerosolised formulation of pentamidine once per month to prevent the occurrence of PCP pneumonia. This treatment is continued during one year after the graft.

Children may have the usual otorhinolaryngologic problems common to all children. When your child often suffers from infections of this type, please inform the transplant internist and your paediatrician for a referral to a specialist. Remember to call the physicians at the Centre before giving any new drug to your child. There are certain antibiotics that your child must not take since certain antibiotics may increase or decrease the concentration of Prograf®. When these antibiotics must be administered, your child’s concentrations of liver enzymes and of Prograf® must be checked frequently.

L’infection

   

L’un des problèmes les plus courants à la suite d’une greffe est l’infection, et elle est souvent plus facile à prévenir qu’à traiter. Les patients qui ont subi une greffe courent un risque accru d’infection en raison de la prise de médicaments anti-rejet. Ces derniers diminuent de manière non-spécifique la capacité du corps à lutter contre les corps étrangers, greffon ou bactéries.

Les infections peuvent être causées par des bactéries ou des virus. Les infections virales, que ce soit le CMV (Cytomégalovirus) ou l’herpès simplex, touchent habituellement la bouche, les poumons ou le foie greffé. On les traite généralement à l’aide de médicaments administrés par voie orale ou intraveineuse pendant 10 à 14 jours. La pneumonie à Pneumocystis jirovecii (PCP) est une infection pulmonaire due à un parasite et elle est plus commune chez les patients dont le système immunitaire est altéré. Elle survient en général au cours de la première année suivant la greffe, lorsque les taux de médicaments anti-rejet sont les plus élevés. Tous les patients greffés prennent un médicament destiné à réduire les risques de développer une PCP. Les patients prennent du Bactrim® 3x/semaine (en général les lundis, mercredis et vendredis), ou un aérosol de pentamidine une fois par mois pour prévenir l’apparition d’une PCP. Ce traitement est poursuivi, en général, pendant un an après la greffe.

Les enfants peuvent présenter les habituels problèmes otorhinolaryngologiques communs à tous les enfants. Si votre enfant souffre fréquemment d’infections de ce genre, veuillez en informer le médecin interne de greffe et votre pédiatre pour qu’ils vous orientent vers un spécialiste. Rappelez-vous que vous devez appeler les médecins du Centre avant de donner tout nouveau médicament à votre enfant. Il y a certains antibiotiques que votre enfant ne peut pas prendre, car certains antibiotiques peuvent élever ou abaisser la concentration de Prograf®. Si ces antibiotiques doivent être administrés, il faut alors souvent contrôler les concentrations d’enzymes hépatiques et de Prograf® de votre enfant.