University Hospitals Geneva (HUG) and their affiliated Children’s Hospital are recognised as the national centre providing care for children suffering from a liver disorder – like your child. We are here to find a diagnosis, propose state-of-the-art treatments and guide you in caring for your child. We work as a team, and you are part of that team, as are your child’s other medical caregivers.

This site will provide you with information on some of the liver disorders in children. You will learn what is meant by “liver transplant” and what it involves for your child and for you, and you will become acquainted with the main people you are going to meet in our establishment. You will also find practical information to help you with your arrival and accommodation in Geneva, a list of frequently asked questions (FAQ), a glossary, a German-French dictionary and testimonials.

Liver diseases


Liver diseases in children are diverse. Unlike in adults, they are not linked to living habits, but in most cases are related to a congenital problem. The following is an overview of the most common diseases. It is important to know that all liver diseases in children are rare; so if your child’s disease does not appear on the list below, it is because we have focussed on the most common diseases.

For the sake of simplicity and easier reading, the masculine form is used for persons.

» Learn more

Pre-transplant evaluation


Great progress has been achieved in organ transplantations: liver, kidney, heart, lung, and pancreas can be transplanted today. Here, we are only talking about the liver.

We would like to explain to you what a liver transplant is and give you explanations and useful advice regarding the hospital stays – before, during and after the intervention, as well as your return home.

You will then be well informed and thus able to take part in your child’s treatment in close cooperation with the medical and nursing team. Your involvement is decisive for the development and the proper functioning of the transplanted liver!

For the sake of simplicity and easier reading, the masculine form is used for persons.

» Learn more

Waiting for a transplant


While waiting for the transplant, your child will be placed on a “waiting list”. This time is important for you and your child and it is absolutely necessary that each of the following points is followed up or observed strictly.



During this waiting time, it is essential that your child stays in the best possible form, maintains a good nutritional condition and does not develop any infections.

All these points will be discussed with you during the week of evaluation.

The transplant team will draw up a plan intended to meet your child’s health needs best. It is very important and it is your responsibility to make sure that the medical treatment plan of your child is observed. This plan includes instructions regarding drugs, diet, vaccinations and consultations. If, for whatever reason, you are not able to comply with these instructions, you must immediately inform the Centre.

The waiting period may last from some hours to several months. During this time, we will stay in contact with you and will regularly see your child.

As soon as your child is on the waiting list, you, the parents, will be the most important members of the transplant team. We depend on you to ensure the best possible healthcare for your child. It is important and it is your responsibility to keep us informed of any change in your child’s state of health.

» Learn more

The graft



From the moment when we call you to announce you that we have a graft for your child, you will have about 1-3 hours to make preparations.

We recommend, however, having a small suitcase ready for you and your child so that the departure is as calm as possible. The graft coordinator will see to all details regarding your urgent trip to Geneva on the day of the graft, you do not need to organise anything. When you live far from Geneva, the coordinator will contact the REGA team to organise the transport by helicopter – depending on the weather.

From this call on, your child must fast (for the anaesthesia).

When a problem occurs at any point in time while waiting, please contact the Centre.

When your child arrives at our Centre, he will be examined by a physician on service and prepared by the nurses. This preparation takes place on the paediatric surgical ward that you already know. In general, your child will undergo an electrocardiogram (ECG), chest x-ray radiography, a blood collection with insertion of a catheter (intravenous line), examinations of urine, a bath and he must take 2 drugs.

» Learn more

Post-transplant drugs



  • Take the drugs every day at the same time in order to avoid missing a dose. Use a weekly pill box to help you.
  • Do not try to “make up for” missed doses unless your transplant physician told you to.
  • Check the expiry date on the labels of all drugs.
  • For the drugs in vials, always check the dosage (mg/ml) and shake the vial before taking the desired quantity.
  • When you have to renew the drugs, inform your physician between five and seven days before running out of them. When you have a renewable prescription, it is sufficient to call your chemist’s.
  • In case of vomiting, apply the half an hour rule: when a vomiting episode occurred within haft an hour after the administration of the drug, it is reasonable to think that the child did not absorb his dose; thus, you can give him the same dose a second time. When the episode happens half an hour or more after the administration of the drug, do not administer it again, since it probably has been absorbed. Do not hesitate to contact our Centre when you are in doubt or if the vomiting persists.
  • Always give your child the exact quantity of the drug ordered by your physician. Do not follow the instructions on the vial, because they are frequently modified. Caution: 1 mg IS NOT EQUAL TO 1 ml!
  • Do not take any drug other than those that we prescribed for you without having consulted your transplant physician first.


» Learn more

Nutrition and Hygene



It is very important to have a good nutritional state before and after a liver transplant. A good nutrition or the improvement of the nutritional state before a liver transplant may promote recovery and healing after the graft. A good nutrition may also improve the general state of health.

The transplant team’s dietician is available to give advice with respect to nutrition. He can make recommendations to improve and maintain your child’s nutritional state. The dietician may ensure that your child sticks to a diet appropriate to his age and comprising a large variety of food items of all food groups (starches, vegetables, fruit, milk and meat). He can also help your child when he is fed by tube and/or intravenously. Our team of dieticians know the subtleties of the needs of children with liver disorders very well.

The drugs that your child must take to prevent rejection after a liver transplant increase the risk of developing diseases such as diabetes, hypertension and cardiopathies and may cause excessive weight gains or losses. The dietician may give instructions and written information to reduce the risk of these complications.



» Learn more

Back home


Back home, your child will no longer wear a mask to go to areas with a high density of people. However, for 6 months after the graft, it is preferable to avoid going to public places with a high density of people and in particular in winter. We recommend as well avoiding “physical” contact between your transplanted child and his brothers or sisters when the latter are sick. He may again drink tap water and you no longer need to sterilise pacifiers and soothers as well as nursing bottles.

After your return home, you will have appointments with your attending physician and at the Swiss Centre for Liver Diseases in Children. A blood sample of your child will be taken at every follow-up visit. At the Centre, we will also perform a follow-up ultrasonography and we will carry out urinary analyses to check the kidney function. Sometimes, we have to perform a liver biopsy.

During these consultations at the Centre, we must:

  • verify that the drugs are well adjusted to the state of health of your child and to the function of his liver, adjust the drug doses accordingly, discontinue certain drugs and add others.
  • make sure that your child does not develop a rejection of the liver. Contrary to what you think, rejection does not manifest by an acute accident. It manifests by a change in the laboratory examinations, by slightly elevated temperature or by a mild discomfort. In case of rejection, we must increase the doses of certain drugs or give others.
  • check the function of the kidneys. Some drugs may alter this function temporarily.
  • check the drugs for blood pressure.
  • make sure that no infection is affecting your child.
  • progressively diminish his drugs to a minimum.
  • make sure that the transplanted liver works perfectly.

» Learn more



Swisstransplant is the Swiss national organism responsible for organ donation. Swisstransplant keeps a national list of transplants and establishes a connection between the persons who need a transplant and the organ donors. When the necessity of transplant is approved for your child, he is put on the waiting list managed by Swisstransplant. The official website of Swisstransplant is:

» Learn more

When to call the center


It is very important that you inform the transplant Centre when one of the following pathological conditions occurs:

  • Fever exceeding 38°C for several days.
  • Vomiting for more than 12 hours or occurring less than half an hour after the administration of drugs.
  • Diarrhoea or watery stools for more than 12 hours.
  • Persisting expectoration or nasal discharge.
  • Redness around the scar or discharge from the scar.
  •  Shortness of breath, respiratory difficulty or excessive tiredness.
  •  Persisting or severe headache.
  • Increased or decreased blood pressure. Follow the instructions given by your transplant internist.


NOTE: Take your child’s blood pressure before giving him an anti-hypertensive drug. Record your child’s blood pressure readings in writing.

» Learn more









» Learn more

Routine healthcare



When your child has not been vaccinated before the graft, the proposed vaccination schedule must be implemented as soon as our infectiologists recommend, in general 12 months after the graft. If possible, all family members must get a vaccination against varicella before the child undergoes the transplant. In case of an outbreak of measles or varicella in your region, please contact the Centre.

It is recommended that the vaccine series against pneumococcus, hepatitis A and hepatitis B be administered to your child before the graft. If he has not been vaccinated against hepatitis A or B, discuss this point with the internal specialist and your paediatrician to plan a vaccination schedule. The levels of antibodies against hepatitis A and hepatitis B will be checked annually. The annual vaccination against influenza is also recommended for the whole family.


» Learn more

Warning: Missing argument 2 for the_excerpt_max_charlength(), called in /local/home/sct/kids/ket/apps/wordpress/htdocs/wp-content/themes/hug/home.php on line 161 and defined in /local/home/sct/kids/ket/apps/wordpress/htdocs/wp-content/themes/hug/functions.php on line 164 The Team   During the evaluation, you will meet many members of the liver transplant team. Every member has a special task to perform during the evaluation process, at the moment of the graft and afterwards. The persons who you will

» Learn more

Les Hôpitaux Universitaires de Genève (HUG) et son Hôpital des Enfants sont le siège du centre national qui prend en charge les enfants atteints d’une maladie du foie – comme votre enfant. Nous sommes là pour trouver le diagnostic, pour vous proposer des traitements de pointe, et pour vous guider dans la prise en charge de votre enfant. Nous travaillons en équipe, une équipe dont vous faites partie, tout comme les autres soignants de votre enfant.

Sur ce site vous découvrirez des informations concernant quelques maladies du foie de l’enfant, vous apprendrez ce que veut dire le terme « greffe hépatique » et ce qu’il implique pour votre enfant et pour vous, et vous ferez la connaissance des personnes principales que vous allez rencontrer chez nous. Vous trouverez également des informations pratiques pour faciliter votre arrivée et votre séjour à Genève, une foire-aux-questions (FAQ), un glossaire, un lexique allemand-français et des témoignages.

Les maladies du foie

 

Les maladies du foie de l’enfant sont diverses. Contrairement à l’adulte, elles ne sont pas associées à des habitudes de vie, mais sont le plus souvent liées à un problème congénital. Les lignes qui suivent doivent servir de survol des maladies les plus fréquentes. Il est important de savoir que les maladies du foie de l’enfant sont toutes rares, par conséquent, si la maladie de votre enfant ne figure pas sur cette liste, c’est parce que nous nous sommes concentrés sur les plus fréquentes.

L’emploi du masculin pour désigner des personnes a été choisi pour ne pas alourdir le texte.

» En savoir plus

Le bilan pré-greffe

 

De grands progrès ont été réalisés dans les transplantations d’organes : foie, rein, cœur, poumon, pancréas peuvent maintenant être transplantés. Ici, nous parlerons seulement du foie.

Nous désirons vous expliquer ce qu’est une transplantation hépatique et vous donner des explications et des conseils utiles relatifs aux séjours hospitaliers – avant, pendant et après l’intervention, ainsi qu’à votre retour à la maison.

Bien informés, vous pourrez ainsi participer au traitement de votre enfant, en étroite collaboration avec l’équipe médico-soignante. Votre implication est déterminante dans l’évolution et le bon fonctionnement du foie greffé !

L’emploi du masculin pour désigner des personnes a été choisi pour ne pas alourdir le texte.

» En savoir plus

Dans l’attente d’une greffe

 

En attendant la transplantation, votre enfant va être mis en « liste d’attente ». Ce temps est important pour vous et votre enfant, et il est impératif que chacun des points suivants soit scrupuleusement suivi ou surveillé.

 

SANTE

Pendant cette attente, il est capital que votre enfant garde la meilleure forme possible, un bon état de nutrition et qu’il ne développe pas d’infection.

Tous ces points sont bien entendu discutés avec vous pendant la semaine du bilan.

L’équipe de greffe établira un plan destiné à répondre au mieux aux besoins de santé de votre enfant. Il est très important, et de votre responsabilité, de veiller à ce que le plan de soins médicaux de votre enfant soit suivi. Ce plan comporte des instructions relatives aux médicaments, au régime alimentaire, aux vaccinations et aux consultations. Si, pour une raison ou pour une autre, vous n’êtes pas en mesure de respecter ces instructions, vous devez en informer immédiatement le Centre.

L’attente peut durer de quelques jours à plusieurs mois. Pendant ce temps, nous restons en contact avec vous et nous revoyons régulièrement votre enfant.

Dès que votre enfant est sur la liste d’attente, vous, les parents, êtes les membres les plus importants de l’équipe de greffe. Nous dépendons de vous pour assurer les meilleurs soins de santé possibles à votre enfant. Il est important, et de votre responsabilité, de nous tenir informés de tout changement dans l’état de santé de votre enfant.

» En savoir plus

La greffe

 

PREPARATIFS JUSTE AVANT LA GREFFE

A partir du moment où nous vous appelons pour vous annoncer que nous avons un greffon pour votre enfant, vous avez environ 1-3 heures devant vous pour vous préparer.

Nous vous conseillons toutefois de garder une petite valise prête pour vous et votre enfant, afin que le départ se passe le plus calmement possible. La coordinatrice de transplantation s’occupera de tous les détails liés à votre déplacement à Genève en urgence le jour de la transplantation, vous n’avez rien à organiser. Si vous habitez loin de Genève, la coordinatrice contactera l’équipe de la REGA pour organiser le transport en hélicoptère – ceci en fonction de la météo.

A partir de cet appel, votre enfant doit rester à jeun (pour l’anesthésie).

Si un problème survient à n’importe quel moment de l’attente, veuillez contacter le Centre.

A son arrivée dans notre Centre, votre enfant est examiné par un médecin du service et préparé par les infirmiers. Cette préparation se passe dans le service de chirurgie pédiatrique que vous connaissez déjà. En général, votre enfant aura un électrocardiogramme (ECG),  une radiographie du thorax, une prise de sang avec la pose d’un cathéter (voie veineuse), des examens urinaires, un bain, et il devra prendre 2 médicaments par la bouche.

» En savoir plus

Médicaments en post-transplantation

 

DIRECTIVES GENERALES

  • Prendre les médicaments à la même heure chaque jour pour éviter les oublis. Utilisez un pilulier semainier pour vous aider.
  • Ne pas essayer de “rattraper” les médicaments oubliés sauf si votre médecin de greffe vous a dit de le faire.
  • Vérifier la date d’expiration sur les étiquettes de tous les médicaments.
  • Pour les médicaments en flacon, vérifier toujours le dosage (mg/ml) et secouer le flacon avant de prélever la quantité voulue.
  • Quand vous devez renouveler les médicaments, prévenez votre médecin entre cinq et sept jours avant de tomber à court. Tant que vous disposez d’une ordonnance renouvelable, il suffit d’appeler votre pharmacie.
  • En cas de vomissements, appliquez la règle d’une demi-heure: si un épisode de vomissement s’est produit dans la demi-heure suivant l’administration du médicament, il est raisonnable de penser que l’enfant n’a pas absorbé sa dose ; vous pouvez donc  lui donner la même dose une deuxième fois. Si l’épisode survient une demi-heure ou plus après l’administration du médicament, ne l’administrez pas à nouveau, car il est probable qu’il ait été absorbé. N’hésitez pas à appeler notre Centre si vous avez un doute ou si les vomissements persistent.
  • Donner toujours la quantité exacte de médicament prescrite par votre médecin. Ne suivez pas les instructions du flacon, car des changements se produisent fréquemment. Attention: 1 mg N’EST PAS ÉGAL à 1 ml !
  • Ne prenez aucun autre médicament que ceux que nous vous avons prescrit sans avoir consulté au préalable votre médecin de greffe.

» En savoir plus

Alimentation et hygiène

 

NUTRITION

Il est très important d’avoir un bon état nutritionnel avant et après une greffe du foie. Une bonne alimentation ou l’amélioration de l’état nutritionnel avant une greffe du foie peut favoriser la récupération et la guérison après la greffe. Une bonne nutrition peut aussi améliorer l’état de santé général. 

Le diététicien de l’équipe de greffe est à disposition pour dispenser des conseils en matière de nutrition. Il peut faire des recommandations pour améliorer et maintenir l’état nutritionnel de votre enfant. Le diététicien peut faire en sorte que votre enfant suive un régime alimentaire approprié à son âge comportant une grande variété d’aliments de tous les groupes alimentaires (féculents, légumes, fruits, lait et viandes). Il peut aussi aider votre enfant s’il est alimenté par sonde et/ou par voie intraveineuse.  Notre équipe de diététiciens connaissent bien les subtilités des besoins des enfants avec une maladie du foie.

Les médicaments que votre enfant doit prendre pour prévenir le phénomène de rejet après une greffe de foie augmentent le risque de contracter des maladies telles que le diabète, l’hypertension et les cardiopathies, et peut provoquer des prises ou des pertes de poids excessives. Le diététicien peut fournir des instructions et des informations écrites permettant de réduire le risque de telles complications.

» En savoir plus

Retour à la maison

 

De retour à la maison, votre enfant ne portera plus de masque pour se rendre dans des endroits à forte densité de personnes. Néanmoins, pendant les 6 mois après la greffe, il est préférable d’éviter de se rendre dans les lieux publics avec une forte densité de personnes, et particulièrement en période hivernale. Nous vous recommandons également d’éviter le contact « physique » entre votre enfant greffé et ses frères ou sœurs, si ces derniers sont malades. Il peut de nouveau boire de l’eau du robinet et il n’y a plus besoin de stériliser les tétines ou lolettes, ainsi que les biberons.

 

Après votre retour à la maison, vous aurez des consultations chez le médecin traitant de votre enfant et au Centre Suisse des Maladies du Foie de l’Enfant de Genève. A chaque visite de contrôle, votre enfant aura une prise de sang. Au Centre, nous effectuons également un ultrason de contrôle, et nous effectuons des examens urinaires pour surveiller la fonction du rein. Parfois, nous devons pratiquer une biopsie du foie.

Lors de ces consultations au Centre, nous devons :

  • Contrôler que les médicaments sont bien adaptés à l’état de santé de votre enfant et à la fonction de son     foie, donc ajuster les doses des médicaments, en supprimer certains ou en ajouter d’autres.
  • Nous assurer que votre enfant ne présente pas de rejet du foie. Contrairement à ce que l’on pense, le rejet ne se manifeste pas par un accident aigu. Il se manifeste par un changement dans les examens de laboratoire, par un peu de fièvre ou par un léger malaise. En cas de rejet, il faut augmenter les doses de certains médicaments ou en donner d’autres.
  • Contrôler la fonction des reins. Certains médicaments peuvent temporairement altérer cette fonction.
  • Contrôler les médicaments pour la tension artérielle.
  • Nous assurer qu’aucune infection n’est en train d’affecter votre enfant.
  • Diminuer progressivement ses médicaments, pour en laisser ensuite un minimum.
  • Nous ’assurer que le foie greffé fonctionne parfaitement.

» En savoir plus

Swisstransplant

 

Swisstransplant est l’organisme national responsable du don d’organes. Swisstransplant tient une liste nationale des greffes et met en relation les personnes qui ont besoin d’une transplantation avec les donneurs d’organes. Lorsque la nécessité d’une greffe est approuvée pour votre enfant, il est placé sur la liste d’attente de Swisstransplant.  Le site web officiel de Swisstransplant est : www.swisstransplant.ch.

 

 

» En savoir plus

Quand appeler le Centre

 

Il est très important que vous informiez le Centre de greffe si l’un des états pathologiques suivants se manifeste :

  • Fièvre supérieure à 38° pendant plusieurs jours.
  • Vomissements durant plus de 12 heures ou survenant moins d’une demi-heure après la prise des médicaments.
  • Diarrhée ou selles aqueuses durant plus de 12 heures.
  • Expectoration ou écoulement nasal persistant.
  • Rougeur autour de la cicatrice ou écoulement de la cicatrice.
  • Essoufflement, difficulté respiratoire ou fatigue excessive.
  • Maux de tête persistants ou violents.
  • Tension trop élevée ou trop basse. Suivre les indications données par votre médecin interne de greffe.

NOTE: Prenez la tension de votre enfant avant de lui administrer un médicament anti-hypertenseur. Consignez par écrit les mesures de la tension de votre enfant.

» En savoir plus

Complications

 

Le rejet

L’infection

L’hyertension

La varicelle

Le cancer

CMV & EBV

» En savoir plus

Soins de santé courants

 

VACCINATION

Si votre enfant n’a pas été vacciné avant la greffe, il faut entreprendre le programme de vaccination proposé dès que nos médecins-infectiologues le recommandent, en général dès 12 mois post greffe. Tous les membres de la famille doivent si possible se faire vacciner contre la varicelle avant que l’enfant subisse la greffe. En cas de flambée de rougeole ou de varicelle dans votre région, veuillez contacter le Centre.

Il est recommandé que la série de vaccins contre le pneumocoque, l’hépatite A et l’hépatite B, soit administrée à votre enfant avant la greffe. S’il n’a pas été vacciné contre l’hépatite A ou B, parlez-en avec le médecin interne et votre pédiatre pour qu’un programme de vaccination soit établi. Les taux d’anticorps contre l’hépatite A et l’hépatite B seront contrôlés annuellement. La vaccination annuelle contre la grippe est aussi recommandée pour toute la famille.

» En savoir plus

News
L’équipe Au cours de l’évaluation vous rencontrerez de nombreux membres de l’équipe de greffe du foie. Chacun d’entre eux a une tâche particulière à accomplir au cours du processus d’évaluation, au moment de la greffe et par la suite. Les

» En savoir plus